Skip to content

Exciting Times Ahead!

August 19, 2014

This past weekend was a very exciting one for Cobi and me.

Ferry Building

The week before was our last as tourists in San Francisco, so we celebrated with a trip to the Ferry Building for a delicious lunch.

 

Gott's Roadside

We’d been told that Gott’s Roadside Burgers were some of the best, so we gave them a try in our hunt for Best Burger in San Francisco.

 

Burger & Fries

We waited in line for about 30 minutes, and in that time decided to go for simple Cheese Burgers with a side of Garlic Fries and a Vanilla Malted Milkshake.

 

Burgers

I think the burgers at Roam were better, but I can honestly say those were the best Garlic Fries I have ever had in my life. Instead of throwing some minced Garlic on the fries, they created a sort of Garlic Butter and it was heavenly. The milkshake was also pretty good, but the Vanilla Malted Milkshake at Hodad’s is still my number one.

After our last touristy lunch Cobi and I made our way to Toronto, and with large stacks of paperwork in hand we went back to the US border to apply for our Visas. We were both successful in procuring legal extended entry into the US with the ability to work (YES!), and we hopped on a plane back to San Francisco.

 

Breakfast Cocktails

Once we were back in SF we decided to celebrate with breakfast cocktails and a greasy meal.

 

Deep Fried French Toast

Did someone say Deep Fried French Toast?!

 

Millionaire's Bacon

I’d received many recommendations to try Sweet Maple for breakfast, especially their “Millionaire’s Bacon” (pictured above).

The Bacon was incredible. Super Caramelized, super delicious.

 

Dixie Bacon

We also got a side of Dixie Bacon, which was deep fried Bacon with a side of Honey.

Everything was amazing, I highly recommend deep frying your French Toast. And your Bacon.

 

Thanksgiving Sandwich

Later that weekend the rest of the newly-visa’d Taplytics team came back to San Francisco, and we had yet another celebratory meal at Miller’s East Coast Deli.

I got “The Day After”, which was pretty much a Thanksgiving Dinner on bread. Turkey, Swiss Cheese, Cranberry Sauce, Gravy and Stuffing on Challah. It was one of the most delicious sandwiches I’ve ever had, but the size was insane. I just barely made it through one half! I obviously need more training if I’m going to make it in this city.

 

Jelly Belly Cocktails

By the time we walked back to Cobi’s cousin’s house (thanks again, Mary, for putting up with us while we apartment hunt!) I was feeling peckish.

 

Flavours

One of the grocery stores near Mary’s place has a wall full of different flavours of Jelly Belly’s, and I bought a few different types to try. I decided to go with the ‘Cocktail Classics’ first, and they were pretty awesome. I can’t wait to try the Chocolate Covered and Ice Cream flavours…

A delicious way to celebrate the start of our new adventure!!

No comments yet

Leave a comment