Skip to content

I Left My Heart in San Francisco

July 18, 2016

I had been away from San Francisco for 6 months, and it was time to go back.

Cobi’s cousin was getting married in SF, so we decided to turn it into a week-long trip celebrating with family and seeing old friends!

Lunch

We left Toronto at 6am Saturday morning, arriving in San Francisco just before 9am. We dropped our things off at our hotel in the Marina, and walked along Chestnut Street to run a few errands before getting the day started.

 

BlueBarn Sandwich

We were having a picnic with friends at Fort Mason later, but we were hungry so we stopped for a quick lunch at Blue Barn, sharing a BBQ Chicken & Bacon sandwich. Their sandwiches and salads are amazing!

 

Peets

After our lunch I got my hands on some sweet, sweet Peet’s Black Tie Iced Coffee.

It feels so good when it touches my lips…

 

Oreos

After I was thoroughly caffeinated Cobi and I made our way to Safeway to pick up some snacks and beers for the picnic. My first stop (as always) was to the cookie aisle to check out all the Oreos we can’t get back home!

 

Oreo

I went with S’mores and Cinnamon Bun Oreos – the perfect way to start a picnic!

 

Park

And the weather was perfect for a picnic! Sunny and warm, and Karl the Fog was nice enough to take the day off.

 

Treats

Along with the beers and Oreos from Safeway, I had brought all my favourite Canadian treats for my American pals to try.

 

Felicia

Felicia was pretty stoked, and immediately put the Smarties in her bag so she didn’t have to share.

This is why Felicia and I are friends.

 

PrideSlide

It was Pride Weekend in SF and people were celebrating in all the best ways – this group set up a huge rainbow Slip & Slide! I did not partake, but it was fun to watch.

 

Birds

And while I was watching I got to play with these two adorable parrots who were out enjoying the weather!

 

Paper Towesl

Because the wind was so strong, it didn’t feel super hot and I forgot for a second that I am made of porcelain. As soon as I remembered, I put on a long sleeved shirt and covered the holes in my jeans with paper towels.

 

Sunburn

Unfortunately, I didn’t do this quick enough…

Every year I forget that I’m not made for sunshine.

 

Shanghai Dumpling King

After a full day getting sunburned with friends in the park, a few of us went to Shanghai Dumpling King, one of my favourite restaurants in the city.


Shanghai Dumpling King

If you ever go, I highly recommend the Spicy Wontons, Pork Buns, Soup Dumplings and basically every single thing on the menu. It’s all so good.

After we stuffed our faces with all the deliciousness we could handle, we rolled home and started making plans for what we were going to eat for the rest of the week… 😀

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

