Skip to content

Birthday Weekend in Toronto

March 10, 2015

Two weekends ago I made a last minute decision to fly back to Toronto for a quick visit. One of my best friends had recently got engaged and jokingly asked if I could fly home for the weekend to go wedding dress shopping with her, and because the weekend conveniently fell right before my birthday I decided to book a flight!

FlightMy alarm went off at 4am Thursday morning to make my 7am flight out of sunny San Francisco, landing in snowy Toronto in the late afternoon.

 

Cosi & Pebble

It was so nice being home!!

Friday morning my Mom and I drove into the city and I spent some time with my old coworkers before getting my nails done and having a nice lunch on Bloor Street with a friend.


Table

That evening my Mom and I prepared for my birthday party the following night, setting the table and cleaning the house.

 

Place Setting

Best place setting ever.

 

Ladies

Saturday morning we made our way back into the city to dress shop! It was so wonderful being there with Sophie as she found her dress, and it was made even more special because her Mom had flown in from Liverpool and it was the first time I got to meet her.

After dress shopping, Sophie and her mom Deb came back home with me for my Birthday dinner.

 

Cake Tray

Not only was Debs the sweetest thing ever, but she brought AMAZING hostess gifts!! Cutest cake stand I have ever seen. I may just need to steal this from my Mom…

 

Pink Flowers

My friends know me all too well. I got lots of beautiful flowers, Mini Eggs, scarves and Kate Spade – my favourite things!

 

Girlies

It was really nice being able to see a few friends in the short time I was home.


Birthday Cakes

Now on to the good stuff – Cake!

 

Coconut Cakes

There was Coconut Cake with a Boiled Meringue Frosting,

 

Old Fashioned Cake

And an Old Fashioned cake made from the Miette cookbook! This is probably my new favourite cake, it is so good.


Old Fashioned Cakes

And because they are so small and adorable we had to have more than one!

 

Sloppy Frosting

There were technically four, but one of the cakes didn’t turn out so nice…

 

Sloppy Cake

The frosting just had no desire to stay on the top of the cake!

 

Champagne Breakfast

Even a sloppy cake makes a delicious Sunday morning breakfast!

So nutritious.

 

Easter Treats

I also dipped into the Mini Eggs and Creme Eggs for lunch…

 

Kinder Surprise

With a Kinder Surprise for dessert.

 

Decorated Desk

It was sad leaving home and heading back to San Francisco, but my birthday celebrations were hardly over!

 

Coffee & Cupcakes

I got into work Tuesday morning to a decorated desk, coffee from my favourite coffee shop and cupcakes!

 

Mini Eggs

Happy Birthday to me 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

