Skip to content

Palo Alto – Trip 3

April 9, 2014

Good grief San Francisco is such a great city.

I could visit a thousand more times and still want to go back!


Flight

Last Friday after work I hopped on a plane to go visit Cobi for the weekend. We didn’t have anything specific planned for my visit, and I was more than happy about that.

 

Cookie Dough Oreos

Cobi picked me up from the airport just after 9pm local time and brought me back to his place, where he surprised me with the most amazing Oreos ever!!

 

Marshmallow Oreos

America is a beautiful place.

Both were very tasty, but the Marshmallow Crispy Oreos were my favourite.

 

Souffle Pancakes

The next morning we woke up early and drove to Berkeley for some Soufflé Pancakes at Bette’s Oceanview Diner.

We’d been twice before (this time and that time) and still can’t get over how awesome the pancakes are.

 

Chocolate and Strawberry

I got Strawberry and Chocolate

 

Chocolate Apple Brandy

And Cobi got Apple Brandy and Chocolate.

Mine was better.

 

Sky

The weather was so beautiful on Saturday, so we spent the rest of the day wandering around San Francisco.

We walked through a bunch of different neighbourhoods, visited Cobi’s cousin for a bit, then met up with Cobi’s friend Alex – an old business partner from one of their first startups.

 

Photo courtesy of beachbumberry.com

Photo courtesy of beachbumberry.com

Alex and his girlfriend Ghellie took us to a crazy bar called Smuggler’s Cove.

It was really cool. The menu had over 400 different rums and all sorts of cocktails.

 

photo courtesy of foggedinlounge.blogspot.ca

Photo courtesy of foggedinlounge.blogspot.ca

With 75 cocktails to choose from, it took a minute to make a decision. Cobi got a Rum Barrel, and I forget what my drink was called but I can assure you it was delicious.

After our visit with Alex and Ghellie we made our way back to Palo Alto and had a quiet dinner at a Thai restaurant in town.

 

Flower Bud

The next morning was another beautiful day, so Cobi and I decided to do more walking.

 

Flowers

We wanted to go to Philz Coffee because apparently their Mint Mojito Iced Coffee is amazing, but the lineup was out the door! Not wanting to wait, we decided to continue on our walk and try Philz again later.

 

In-N-Out

WHOOPS look where we ended up…

 

In N Out

Sometimes there is just nothing better than an Animal Style burger and Cheese Fries from In-N-Out.

 

Crazy Sand

Walking back from our nutritious lunch we decided to stop in Michaels because they always have awesome craft and baking supplies to look at.

Cobi’s eye was caught by Kinetic Sand…

 

Cobi

Basically it’s sand that always feels wet, and never dries out.

 

Kinetic Sand

It was super weird, and Cobi loved it.

 

Philz

Once I was finally able to drag Cobi away from the Space Sand we decided to try our luck back at Philz.

The line was still long, but much more manageable.

 

Philz Coffee

There were two interesting looking Iced Coffees on the menu, and because it was so hot we decided to try both.

 

Mint Mojito Iced Coffee

The first was the Mint Mojito Iced Coffee, and it was insanely good. When Cobi first told me about it I thought it sounded a bit strange, but I’m glad he convinced me to order it.

 

Gingerbread Iced Coffee

The second one we tried was the Gingerbread Iced Coffee. Not quite as delicious as the Mojito, but still really good.

After we sat in the sun for a bit enjoying our coffees it was time to head back to the house so I could pack up and head back to the airport. 48 hours is just not long enough!

I took the redeye home Sunday night, leaving SFO at 10pm and landing in Toronto at 5:55am. Yuck.


Cupcakes

I somehow made it through work on Monday, went home and had a quick 20 minute cat nap, then went to my friends place for dinner.

Needing a sugary pick-me-up, I stopped at Dlish for some treats to bring with me to Jon and Sarah’s. I decided on Carrot, Chocolate Peanut Butter, Salted Caramel and Chocolate & Vanilla. I’ve only had Dlish cupcakes a couple times, but I’m a big fan.

 

David's Tea

After our cupcakes Sarah made us some tea. It was something delicious from David’s Tea, and I was inspired to go pick up some of my own after work last night! Their tea is just happiness in a bag.

 

British Mini Eggs

Oh ya, and my good friend Sophie was in England not long ago for a wedding and to visit her family, and she was kind enough to bring me back some English Chocolate! Their Mini Eggs are a thousand times better than the ones we get here… Thanks for ruining Mini Eggs for me, Soph!

Overall the last few days have been mighty delicious! And exhausting…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

