Skip to content

Happy Birthday to ME!

March 9, 2014

It was my birthday this past Monday, so last weekend I spent time celebrating with my family.
Flowers

The festivities began Friday night at my Dad’s house. Any good birthday starts with colourful flowers!!

 

Lobster

Hello, friends.

After a quick race I decided which Lobster was superior, and that Lobster was going to be my dinner.

Mmmmm Lobster Grilled Cheese.

 

Ice Cream Sandwiches

For dessert we made Chocolate Chip Cookies and filled them with Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream.

 

White Chocolate Raspberry Mousse

The next day after some skiing I was surprised with White Chocolate cups filled with Chocolate Mousse and topped with Raspberries! One bite wonders. So good.

 

Badri Flowers

More beautiful Birthday Flowers!

Saturday night my Mom threw a fun dinner party for me. There was an amazing dinner planned, party games, prizes, and of course cake!

 

Table

It may still be cold, wintery March, but it was very Springlike inside!

 

Birthday Cake

Last year my birthday cake was a bit ridiculous (ridiculously good!) so this year my mom decided to go classic and simple, like a good pair of Chanel flats.

 

Cake

Happy Birthday to me!

 

Candles

It was a fun-filled birthday weekend 🙂

 

Cobi Flowers

Monday morning (my actual birthday) I was surprised at work with a beautiful Birthday bouquet from Cobi! I sure got some beautiful flowers this year.

It was an extra busy day at work because I was leaving for Florida early the next day!

 

Birthday Treats

(Photo stolen from Shannon’s Instagram account – Thanks Shan!)

I enjoyed some delicious birthday treats, stayed late finishing up a few things, then drove to Palgrave to hitch a ride with my Mom, step dad and brother to the airport at the crack of dawn the next morning.

4am came early. Yuck.

 

Family

The flight was easy breezy, and as soon as we landed in Fort Meyers I could feel my bones warming up.

The best surprise was seeing my Omi and Opa (my Dad’s parents) waiting for us at the airport! I hadn’t realized we were flying in so close to where they lived, and they thought they’d drive to the airport to give us a quick hug and hello before we started our vacation. Perfect way to start the trip 🙂

 

Ritz

I want to stay here forever.

 

Champagne

When we got to the hotel they greeted us with glasses of champagne (sorry for the blur, this is what happens when an adult tries to take a photo using an iPhone camera).

 

View

The view from our room was pretty spectacular. Because it was so beautiful we figured we’d head right to the pool and soak up some sun!

 

Blue Sky

Going from -17 to +17 in under 5 hours.

Take me back.

 

Lunch

We ordered some lunch and sat under the cabana (our pale selves can only handle so much sun…)

 

Lounging

Sam was content using the free wifi to text his LadyFriend all day, while I was content with my new best friend Trouble in Naples (some sort of Banana Piña Colada thing). So yum.

 

Lava Cake

After a full afternoon going from to pool to the beach to the cabana (repeat), we packed up our gear and went to dinner at Brio.

The food was delicious, but the desserts were even better. The Chocolate Lava Cake was really good. Pretty much a half-baked Brownie filled with melted Chocolate and topped with Ice Cream. My dream dessert.

 

Brownie Cup

Sam ordered a mini Sundae thing, with bits of Chocolate Cake and Ice Cream and Hot Fudge Sauce. Mine was better, but his was pretty good too!

Overall it was a wonderful birthday weekend and an awesome first day in Naples!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

