Skip to content

Palo Alto – Trip 1

February 23, 2014

Well.

The award for worst blogger ever clearly goes to me.

I’m rather embarrassed that my last post was Christmas related. It’s not even that I haven’t had anything to blog about. I’ve been to California TWICE since December and have even done a fair amount of baking and testing of new products. So really, I have no excuse.

If it’s any consolation, I have some fun things to blog about… Please accept the following as a (delicious) apology.

 

Decadent Hot Chocolate

Chocolate Chip Cookie Hot Chocolate.

It’s like drinking Chocolate Chip Cookies.

It’s magical.

After being very sick before Christmas and still recuperating during Christmas, I was very excited to finally be healthy once the Christmas madness had passed. I spent some weekends at home with my family, making up for some baking and eating time that was lost when I was sick.

After locating the Decadent Hot Chocolate I was intrigued by PC’s other new products.

 

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Such as their Chocolate Chip Cookies with a Chocolate base, drizzled with more Chocolate.

If you’re going to change the Decadent cookie, these are acceptable changes.

 

Decadent Soda

This, however, I was less excited for. I was intrigued of course, which is why it came home with me, but I was a bit wary of its deliciousness. Luckily a friend told me it was best used for Ice Cream Floats, not for drinking. That little piece of information turned this product from a super weird one to a pretty awesome one – thanks Ashley!!

 

Cookies

After picking up those new treats from the grocery store, it was time to make the traditional Christmas treats I was too sick to bake during the Holidays.

 

Chocolate

Chocolate Cherry Cookies are one of my very favourite Christmas treats.

 

Chocolate Cherry Cookies

My Mom and I make them every year, and they always disappear the same day they’re made.

I know lots of people don’t like Maraschino Cherries, and I’m rather happy about that because it means more cookies for me!!

 

Mom

Over the holidays I cam across this photo of my Mom and her two sisters… Can you guess which one mothered my weirdo self?

 

Mixer

I also came across this rather modest piece of baking equipment… Just a simple mixer for simple baking endeavours.

 

Weather

As many of you know, my brilliant boyfriend was accepted into a startup accelerator program based out of Silicon Valley. Cobi moved West at the start of the new year, and will be there until the end of April working on his super awesome business that I only partially understand. It sucks not having him around, but it’s great having an excuse to go to California, especially with the delightful winter weather we’ve been having…

 

Blue Skies

Oh yes. Much better.

Midway through January the wives and girlfriends of the Taplytics founders traveled to California for a visit.

 

Cobi's Room

The life of a startup… How very glamourous.

 

When we arrived in Palo Alto the first thing Cobi and the guys told us about was an amazing new service called Google Shopping Express. You go online and create an account (ideally attached to your boyfriend’s credit card), choose the products you want, and they get delivered (for free) within a few hours.

Amazing.

I realized I didn’t have a towel, so I used Google to procure one for me…

Princess Towel

Oh yes, I’m a beeeauuutiul princess!!

I also used Google to get me all sorts of different flavours of pop and candy that is only available south of the Canadian border. I’ll write about those a little later on.

 

Google Express

As you can see, the girls ordered just a few things…

Such a shame it’s only available in San Francisco and Palo Alto.

 

The Melt

After the girls had settled in it was time for lunch.

Cobi and I had been to Melt before, when we did our California Road Trip. Since we’d gone that first time it had improved HUGELY!

 

Soda Tap

They had Milkshakes and Boylan’s Soda Taps and all the food had improved. I was impressed and very satisfied with my Mac & Cheese grilled cheese.

 

Jobs House

After lunch we took the scenic route home and passed by Steve Jobs’ house. As you can see we got a great view… What a beautiful home.

 

Unreal Snickers Bars

Time to try American candy!!

About a year ago I watched a video advertising Unreal candy, ‘Candy Unjunked’. I was SO excited about it, so when I saw I could order all the different types through Google Shopping Express, my day was pretty much made.

 

Unreal Reese's Cups

Basically they try to recreate popular Candy (Snickers, Reese Cups, Mars Bars and M&Ms), but make them with all real ingredients.

 

Unreal Mars Bars

I opened each bag and tried one of everything.

 

Unreal M&Ms

I wanted so badly to like them. I really did.

The truth is, unnatural ingredients are just so damn good.

I think they would have been more successful creating their own all-natural candy, rather than trying to emulate existing candy. Because people will always be comparing them to the original, and in my opinion, they just don’t compare.

 

Breakfast

The next morning Cobi and I did some research for the best breakfast places in Palo Alto, and we decided on the Palo Alto Creamery.

 

French Toast

Cobi got Caribbean French Toast with Caramelized Bananas and Coconut. I’m glad he was the one who got it, as it was very rich and I could only eat a few bites. But those bites were wonderful.

 

Belgian Waffle

I stuck with a plain and simple Belgian Waffle covered with fruit. Yum.

 

Rocket Fizz

After breakfast we wandered around town for a bit, and my spidey senses zeroed in on the Rocket Fizz Soda Pop & Candy Shop.

Obviously.

 

Candy Store

Yum.

 

Brownie Beer

What are you. Why does this exist. Why does it not exist where I live.

 

Chocolate Bar

Sounds legit.

 

Cupcake Bites

More yum.

 

Cookie Dough Bites

Double yum.

 

Saltwater Taffy

Triple yum.

 

Sign

America is full of truths.

 

Dugout Store

After the candy shop, I noticed this store and thought it said ‘San Francisco Giant Doughnut Store’…

It did not say that.

Pity.

 

LA

After a lovely two days with Cobi it was time to hop on the redeye back to Toronto.

Our flight home had a stopover through LA, which I believe is secretly a Death Star…

 

Cold

Do you know what’s fun? Leaving sunny 20 degree weather to come home to this. At 6am. Just to head directly to work after having not slept on the plane at all. Yay!

 

Boarding Passes

Thank goodness the trip was fun.

And the food was good.

The company wasn’t bad either…

 

Stories about the next trip to come!

One Comment leave one →
  1. sharon Montgomery permalink
    February 24, 2014 8:44 pm

    Good to see that you are back blogging!

Leave a Reply

