Skip to content

Holiday Baking Part 1

December 26, 2013

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Turns out I’m a terrible holiday blogger, but I do have an excuse! I was deathly ill the week before Christmas, and was unable to do a lot of our usual Christmas baking or anything else holiday related. I was too tired to even write! It was devastating.

Even still, Christmas is definitely one of my very favourite times of year.

Advent Calendars, Christmas Cookies, Holiday Feasts and of course getting together with friends and family often.

Nadege

My Christmas Spirit started this year when Cobi sent me a surprise present at work!

 

Nadege Macarons

Best. Present. Ever.

 

Nadege Window

And I loved Nadege‘s holiday window! So cute.

 

Feather Tree

A few weekends ago Cobi was busy working on school stuff, so I spent Saturday wandering around the city.

I came across a store called Putti that I had never been into before, but their Christmas window drew me in!

 

Pink Tree

They had a “Baby’s First Christmas” section which was really cute.

 

Ballet Pig

Love this ornament.

 

Treats Tree

And this was my favourite tree, for obvious reasons.

The store must have had over 2o trees, all decorated different ways in different styles. Very cool.

 

Cobi flew out to San Francisco a week before I did for his brother’s wedding, leaving me to grocery shop on my own…

Groceries

Nailed it.

I wasn’t sure what the Gingerbread Oreos would be like… I figured they could either be awesome or completely disgusting, so obviously I had to try them.

 

Gingerbread Oreos

Turns out they were amazing.

 

Blondie Batter

I had to bake them into Blondies and bring them into work so I didn’t eat then entire box by myself!

 

Gingerbread Oreo Blondies

The cookies worked really well in Blondies!

 

Gingerbread Oreo Blondies

I hope Oreo continues to make the Gingerbread flavour, as these have become a new favourite Holiday treat!

 

Toronto Snow

First snow in Toronto! I was really looking forward to finally having a white Christmas.

 

Advent Calendars

Originally I was only planning on buying one Advent Calendar, but when I found the same Kinder Calendar I had last year, I had to buy it for work!

Mmm Christmas.

 

Giant Toblerone

Have you ever seen something so delicious? 10lbs of chocolate for the low, low price of $85.

What a deal!

 

Mug Cake Mix

The holidays also brought Mug Cake mix, for those who don’t have two giant fully stocked Baking Bins, but still want an individual sized treat!

 

Felt Tree

When December finally came, it was time to start decorating the apartment!

My Felt Tree looked a little sad on it’s own, so I added some snowflakes.

 

Christmas Tree

Even though I love my Felt Tree, I still set up my mini tree.

One of these days I’ll have space for a real sized tree!

 

Marshmallows

A couple weekend’s before Christmas I decided to try out a new cookie recipe, to see if we could add it to our yearly baking list.

First we made the rich, chewy, chocolatey brownie-like cookies, and baked them partially. Then we added the Marshmallows and baked the cookies a bit longer.

 

Chocolate Layer

Once they were baked and cooled, we added a chocolate sauce topping.

 

Candy Canes

To make them extra Christmas-y we crushed up Candy Canes and sprinkled them on top of the cookies.

 

Peppermint Hot Chocolate Cookies

Et Voila! Peppermint Hot Chocolate Cookies!!

Similar idea as our usual Chocolate Cherry Cookies, but the addition of the marshmallow is awesome.

Between these and the Gingerbread Blondies, we have some solid additions to our yearly Christmas baking 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

