Skip to content

Exploratorium and Ghirardelli Fun

November 22, 2013

I’m back in the beautiful city of San Francisco!!

Cobi and I came here a few years ago as part of our California Road Trip and I couldn’t wait to go back.

Our trip here is very special for two reasons: Number 1 is because Cobi is moving here in January for at least 4 months to work on his business, so it’s fun figuring out where he’s going to live and what fun things he can do while living here! I suppose I’ll miss him a lot, but I’m excited to come visit San Francisco – I mean him – as often as I can šŸ˜‰

And the second reason this trip is so special is because Cobi’s brother Jesse is getting married!

Actually, he just got married! We just had the ceremony and now we’re back at the house for a bit before we head to dinner, so I figured I’d use the time to whip up a blog post!

His lovely bride is Australian and he is Torontonian so they decided San Fran was the perfect location for a small wedding. And by small I mean the bride, groom, and their six guests. Jesse and Andy of course, Jesse’s Mom and Dad, Cobi and myself, the Bride’s Mother, and one of the Bride and Groom’s mutual friends, Tully. The perfect group!

We flew in Monday evening and by the time everyone met up at the airport and we located our rental car (more like a bus) and drove to where we were staying we were all pretty exhausted. We rented a house using AirBnB which was a great idea because it meant all 8 of us could stay together and we had a living room, dining room and full kitchen which was awesome.

WelcomeCake

The place we stayed in was amazing. It was just south of Presidio park, everyone had a bedroom, and the Bride and Groom had Ā a nice suite to themselves on the third floor.

 

Welcome Cake

Any place that leaves a Welcome Cake is alright in my books!

 

Wine

And wine! Cake and wine! I love these people.

 

Chocolates

Once we were all settled in our rooms and unpacked we hung out in the living room for a bit eating chocolate, but we all went to bed pretty early in preparation for a big week of touristing.

 

Ashley's

The next morning Cobi and I were up early as Cobi had a meeting to get to and I wasn’t used to the time change, so we went for an early breakfast with his parents at a little cafe around the corner from the house. I did not get a Grilled Cheese Gourmet Sandwich, but I did get a croissant with eggs, bacon and cheese that was deeeelicious! Along with fresh squeezed Orange Juice it was the perfect way to start the day.

After breakfast Cobi left for his meeting and we went back to the house to wake everyone else up and get the day going.

First item on the agenda was getting to City Hall to pick up the marriage licence.We figured out what bus would take us where we needed to go and hopped on.

 

Bus Ad

Ah, San Francisco sewer ad humour.

Love it.

 

City Hall

When we finally got to City Hall we had to locate Andy and Jesse as they had gotten off the bus early and hailed a cab because the bus was taking to long. Once they had the licence we wandered around the building a bit because it was so pretty.

 

Bride

There were a surprising number of weddings happening while we were there. At least 4 that we could see!

 

Giant Cookies

By the time we were done it was about lunch time so we walked around looking for a place to eat. We came across a place called The Grove that had amazing Lemonade. And the cookies were the size of my face. So we obviously had to eat there.

 

Exploratorium

It started raining pretty heavily while we were eating lunch so we decided to spend the afternoon doing indoor things.

Cobi’s cousin recommended the Exploratorium so off we went.

 

Tape City

It was very cool. This whole cityscape was made out of tape!

 

Toothpick Building

And this was made out of Tooth Picks, and took the artist 37 years to finish!

That’s dedication.

 

Mirror

Mirrors are fun.

 

Mirrors

Selfies upon selfies upon selfies.

The whole place was super cool. Thanks for the suggestion, Jonathan!

Andy, Tully and I wandered around together and managed to make it through the whole building. Jesse and his Dad must have taken more time at each exhibit because they hardly made it through half! If they could have stayed there all night I’m sure they would have.

At 5pm the Exploratorium was closing so we had to leave. We met up with Cobi, walked up the road a bit and came across a cute place on the water calledĀ Pier 23. I had fish and chips and the fish was so flaky, so good! The food was a bit bland, but super fresh fish is always awesome.

 

Bags of Chocolate

After dinner we figured we needed something sweet, so we started the hike to Ghirardelli. Our GPS said it would take us about 45 minutes to walk, and it wouldn’t have been so bad if it hadn’t started pouring rain! We stopped at a little shop along the way and bought umbrellas. They helped, but we were all pretty wet at this point.

 

Giant Chocolate

The beautiful sight of ginormous chocolate warmed us right up.

 

Wall of Chocolate

Walls upon walls upon walls of chocolate!

I couldn’t help but buy a few delicious things to eat and share.

 

Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate

After I’d chosen my treats we placed our orders. Cobi got a Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate and it was so good. A little too rich for me, but the few sips I had from his were amazing.

 

Brownie Sundae

I got a Chocolate Fudge Brownie Sundae. I accidentally started eating it before I got a picture of it, so this is a photo of the exact same thing I got last time I was here! It was just as delicious as I remembered it.

After we’d sufficiently stuffed ourselves we hopped in a cab and went home.

Not a bad first day back in San Fran!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jonathan permalink
    November 25, 2013 7:08 pm

    You’re welcome, Cosi! That place is the best!!!

Leave a Reply

