Skip to content

Thanksgiving Feasts

October 16, 2013

I’ve only just emerged from my food coma.

Oh my goodness.

I did not stop eating once over the long weekend. I don’t think I was ever really hungry… but I just kept eating.

It all started on Friday. Cobi and I left the city and three slow hours later we arrived at Stoney Lake to Spaghetti Squash, Ham, and a huge bag of candy. Excellent start.

 

Pumpkin FIlling

Saturday morning Cobi and I were in charge of breakfast. I wanted to make something both delicious and festive, so I decided on Pumpkin Spice Breakfast Rolls. Main ingredients included Brown Sugar, Cream Cheese, and Pumpkin.

Great ingredients.

 

Pumpkin Filling

Because Thanksgiving is all about laziness, I decided to skip the dough making process and use Pillsbury Crescent Rolls.

I spread the Pumpkin Filling on the Crescents, rolled them up, sliced them and placed them in a baking pan.

 

Pumpkin Spice Breakfast Rolls

Yes, they look ugly. But they smelled phenomenal. So it all evens out.

 

Pumpkin Spice Breakfast Rolls

Once they were baked and slightly cooled, I spread a layer of Pumpkin Cream Cheese Frosting on top.

Mmmm.

 

Pumpkin Spice Breakfast Rolls

The use of a cottage oven may have resulted in half-baked breakfast rolls, but when is that ever a bad thing?

 

Bacon

Aaaaand this was Cobi’s contribution to breakfast.

Bacon.

All the bacon.

 

Gummy Bears

After we slept off the Bacon Bonanza Breakfast it was time for more sugar.

 

Gummy Bears

The plan was to make Candied Cranberries, but we didn’t have any Corn Syrup…

So obviously the only logical solution was to use Gummy Bears instead. We melted down some Bears, added water and sugar and simmered the mixture til it thickened.

 

Candied Cranberries

Bam! Candied Cranberries.

Both beautiful and clever.

And delicious.

And very sticky.

That night we had Thanksgiving Dinner #1. There was Turkey, Smashed Potatoes, Brussel Sprouts with Bacon (gross – I just ate the bacon) and of course Ocean Spray Cranberry Sauce. Cobi loves his ribbed, can-shaped cranberry sauce more than anything and thinks it’s the best ever – that is, until he made his own Cranberry Sauce. It was mostly just Brown Sugar and Dark Rum with a few Cranberries thrown in. Needless to say it was spectacular. I think Ocean Spray lost it’s top billing.

 

Fall HomeSunday morning we woke up early and drove to my Mom’s house. It’s one of my very favourite places in the fall, the colours are so beautiful. I love living in the city, but it’s hard not to miss this place.

 

Pumpkin Pie

 

We had a giant Turkey Dinner #2 on Sunday night with all the fixings, as well as homemade Pumpkin Pie and three different kinds of cookies. Because one kind is obviously not enough.

For some reason we thought it would be a good idea to go out for breakfast Monday morning… After bacon, sausage, eggs, hashbrowns and pancakes I was ready to curl up for the winter and sleep til spring. Instead we watched three movies then piled all the leftovers from the night before onto pizza dough and made leftover Turkey Pizza.

Leftover Turkey Pizza is one of my favourite parts about Thanksgiving.

 

It was a fantastic, relaxing and completely delicious long weekend.

Hope everyone had an equally Happy Thanksgiving!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

