Skip to content

2013 Baking and Sweets Show

September 30, 2013

I’ve heard of the Toronto Baking and Sweets Show, but before this past weekend I had never been.

Cobi and I had plans to visit my Mom yesterday evening for dinner, and my Mom suggested we meet up earlier in the day and stop by the show.

We didn’t spend much time there as it wasn’t as great as we thought it would be (not sure if that’s because we went on Sunday?) but we still saw some cool stuff and ate delicious samples!

 

Giant Alice Cake

The theme of this year’s show was Alice In Wonderland. Earlier in the weekend there had been a cake competition, and the cakes were incredible.

 

Hollowed Alice Cake

I bet they would taste disgusting because fondant is gross, but they sure were pretty.

 

Alice in Chair Cake

I want this chair in real life.

 

Alice Cake

I think this one was my favourite.

 

Winning Alice Cake

This was the winning cake.

AfterI’d taken my fill of photos we walked around, seeing what the vendors had to offer.

 

Bacon Frosting

“Perfect for cakes, cookies and cupcakes, or just squeeze it straight into your mouth!”

Gross.

I love bacon, but gross.

 

Oreos

We found one vendor that was selling treats you rarely see in Canada, but are all over American shelves.

They had all different sorts of Oreos, Pop Tarts, intensely sugary Cereals, Chocolate Bars and tons of other candy.

 

Lemon Oreos

We couldn’t resist trying some of the Oreos.

 

Raspberry Fudge Oreos

These ones were surprisingly delicious. I think I’m going to bake them into Chocolate Brownies, that’ll be so good.

 

La Casa Dolce Cupcakes

We passed many a Cupcake vendor but nothing really jumped out at us, until we passed La Casa Dolce.

Their cupcakes and flavours looked amazing, and they had a few of their crazy custom cakes on display, too. Turns out they’re the ones who made my favourite Alice cake!

 

Sandwich Cake

This Sandwich Cake is way more intense than the Grilled Cheese Cake I made for Cobi a few years ago…

 

La Casa Dolce Cupcakes

We couldn’t help but buy a cupcake or six.

 

Caramel & Chocolate Fudge Brownie

Caramel and Chocolate Fudge Brownie,

 

Mint Chocolate & Chocolate Raspberry

Mint Chocolate and Chocolate Raspberry,

 

Peanut Butter Fudge & Strawberry Shortcake

Peanut Butter Fudge and Strawberry Shortcake.

My mom and I tried the Chocolate Fudge Brownie and Peanut Butter Fudge last night, and they were SO good. As a non-eater of frosting, it’s a pretty big deal when I eat all (or most) of the frosting on a cupcake! The frosting was really, really good, and the cupcakes were dense and really moist.

Not a bad way to spend a Sunday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

