Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Paula!

September 17, 2013

Today is a very special day.

Today is the day that one of my coworkers, Paula, turns 25!

And a special day obviously needs a special treat.

Talking to Paula in advance I learned that she LOVES Cannoli. I looked around for the appropriate tools but unfortunately I wasn’t able find a mold anywhere, so I went with her second favourite dessert: Cherry Cheesecake.

 

Crust Ingredients

First step was the Graham Cracker Crust. I pulsed some Graham Crackers into fine crumbs then added in the rest of the ingredients.

I only recently purchased this food processor and it’s changed my life. I love you, Kitchen Aid.

 

Graham Cracker Crust

Once everything was all mixed together I pressed the crumbs into the bottom of the pan and put it in the oven for a few minutes.

 

Cheesecake

While the crust was baking away I got started on the Cheesecake.

I’ve never been a real fan of Cream Cheese, but if you add enough sugar I’ll eat just about anything!

 

Cheesecake Layer

Once the Cheesecake was light and fluffy I poured it over the Graham Cracker crust.

 

Cherry Layer

Next came the fun part, dumping in the Cherries and swirling them around!

 

Crumble

To make things more interesting I decided to make a Streusel topping to sprinkle over the Cheesecake Bars. Sugar, some flour, a pinch of cinnamon, butter and voila! Scrumptious Streusel.

 

Streusel

I put the pan in the oven and waited very (im)patiently for the bars to bake.

The kitchen smelled phenomenal.

 

Cherry Cheesecake Bars

Once baked I let them cool on the counter then placed them in the fridge overnight to set.

If I asked you “what’s the most difficult thing in the world to do?” and you didn’t say “cut cheesecake bars nicely” you’d be lying.

Cutting them up and making them look half decent was quite a struggle…

 

Paula

Good thing they tasted delicious, so how they looked hardly mattered!

Happy 25th Birthday, Paula 🙂

(I promise I’ll find a Cannoli mold soon! That’s definitely a recipe I’d like to try!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

