Skip to content

Magnum Ice Cream

September 9, 2013

Who went to the Magnum popup on Bloor Street??

My office is nearby and every day I saw the lineup but never had time to go in. When I found out they were closing up at the end of August I made a solid effort to go on the last day so I didn’t miss out!

 

Chocolate

My friend Stacey and I got there around 30 minutes after it opened and there was already a lineup. Luckily it moved pretty quickly, and while we were waiting we picked out what we were going to get.

 

Toppings

You could choose your Ice Cream (Chocolate or Vanilla), the coating (Milk, Dark, or White Chocolate), your toppings (there were like a million) and a drizzle (also Milk, Dark or White Chocolate).

 

Magnum Ice Cream

I got Vanilla Ice Cream, Milk Chocolate Coating, Toffee Bits, Chocolate Rice Krispies, Cookie Crumbs, Chocolate pieces and White Chocolate Drizzle.

 

Magnum Ice Cream Bar

They were so good. I hate that it’s closed, I want to go again.

 

I haven’t really been baking much. Or blogging. That makes me sad. I’ll try to do better, I swear.

Challah

I was on a bit of a Challah kick recently, those who follow me on Instagram are probably aware of that.

 

6 Strand Challah

I needed to practice before Rosh Hashanah to prove what a good Jew I am.

I didn’t make the Rosh Challah in a circle so I think that gave it away… Oh well. Any day with Challah is a good day.

 

Apple Butter

Oh, and my friend Lauren found a recipe for Apple Butter Challah that looks flipping delicious, so I had to pick this up today when I saw it at the market. Stay tuned for some Apple-y goodness.

 

I promise I’ll get back to baking and blogging soon. Who knew I’d ever be too busy to bake?! Madness I say.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anita permalink
    September 10, 2013 11:05 pm

    Oh Magnum, I live a block away so would always see the line ups. If you’re a fan of dipped bars, try Purdy’s as well. Not nearly as many toppings, but I remember there being essentials. I used to go when I was younger. The vanilla bar dipped in white chocolate then a crumbled nut/chocolate mixture was heaven. They apparently just opened one in the bloor subway station.

    • September 11, 2013 9:01 am

      Yes, there is a Purdy’s at Bloor… Dangerously close to my office 😛 I’ve not had their ice cream but I’ve had other treats and I’m a fan!

  2. Anita permalink
    September 10, 2013 11:08 pm

    Your magnum combo looks amazing by the way!

Leave a Reply

