Skip to content

Chocolate Bar Birthday Cupcakes

July 27, 2013

Hello, blog! Sorry I’ve been so MIA lately, but I have a good excuse.

Last week I was contacted by a global marketing and advertising company about a job opening, and when they offered me the position I just couldn’t say no!

So it’s been a crazy and busy few weeks, and even though I’ve been baking lots I just haven’t gotten around to blogging. So here we go!

 

A couple of days ago I got a phone call from a customer I made cupcakes for a few years ago. She was hoping I’d be able to make cupcakes for her daughter’s birthday, as she’d loved the cupcakes I’d made for her graduation. Because I was a little busy with the job changeover I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to find the time, but I was thinking of making cupcakes to bring into work on Friday anyway, so I decided to accept the order.

Reese Cups

I emailed the daughter to figure out what flavours she wanted, and she decided on Reese’s Cupcakes and Caramilk Cupcakes. Excellent choices!

 

Reese Batter

I started with the Reese Cupcakes, chopping up mini Reese Cups and mixing them into Chocolate Batter.

 

Reese Batter

While the Reese Cupcakes were baking I whipped up more Chocolate Batter for the Caramilk Cupcakes.

 

Caramilk Cupcakes

Once the Caramilk Cupcakes were baked and cooled I cored them and filled each one with lots of gooey Caramel.

 

Reese Cupcakes

Time to frost!

 

Reese Cupcakes

The Reese Cupcakes were topped with a light and fluffy Peanut Butter frosting and a Mini Reese garnish.

 

Caramilk Cupcakes

The Caramilk Cupcakes were topped with a Caramel Frosting, and I had planned to drizzle more Caramel over each and add a piece of a Caramilk bar, but I’d realized I’d forgotten to pick up the chocolate bar when I stopped off at the grocery store!

 

Caramilk Cupcakes

Luckily we passed a convenience store on the way to where I had to drop the cupcakes off, and I added the pieces of Caramilk en route. Crisis avoided!

 

Caramilk Cupcakes

I made sure to make a few extra of each flavour to bring into the office, and of course so I could give them a try.

After the cupcakes were safely in the hands of the client I went back home, got in my jammies, turned on Netflix and grabbed a Caramilk cupcake. It was fantastic, if I do say so myself. Caramel and Chocolate are two of my very favourite flavours, so a Caramilk Cupcake is pretty perfect. I’ve made Caramilk cupcakes two times before (here and here), and each time I do them a little differently and I can’t decide which are my favourite! I guess any combination of Chocolate and Caramel is alright by me.

 

Reese Cupcake

The next day at work I tried a Reese Cupcake, and again I was very impressed with myself (self-appointed flattery is the most special). I always say I’m not the biggest fan of Peanut Butter, but more and more I’m enjoying the Peanut Butter flavoured things I’m making! I guess I like PB more than I think I do… Certainly not the worst problem to have.

Next week marks my last week of work in the TAXIGUY/Hailo offices before I start my new job. I’d better start thinking of delicious treats to bring in, just to remind them of how much they’ll miss me 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

