Skip to content

Tasty Weekend in the Country

July 8, 2013

Mmmm Cupcakes.

You may find it surprising that I haven’t really tried many of the cupcakes Toronto has to offer.

I’ve tried (and adored) Bakerbots, I’ve tried (and disliked) The Cupcake Shoppe, and I think I’ve tried (and obviously not really remembered) Dlish Cupcakes.

But there are so many more cupcake shops and bakeries in the city!

Recently on Twitter (I may not go to many bakeries but I do follow them all!) I noticed that Prairie Girl Bakery was serving Cookies & Cream Cupcakes as their ‘Cupcake of the Week’. I’d heard a lot about them, lots of my friends rave about their cupcakes and all the photos they post on Twitter look pretty yummy, so I figured it was finally time to try them out.

 

Prairie Girl Cupcakes

Each cupcake is absolutely ginormous so I decided to go for two minis, so I could try multiple flavours.

 

Prairie Girl Cupcakes

Of course I had to go with Cookies & Cream, and then I got a Chocolate on Chocolate because Chocolate is the very best.

I was a bit unsure at first because there was SO. MUCH. FROSTING.

Anyone who knows me knows I’m super weird and don’t really like frosting. I like a little bit, enough to up the sugar count, but not so much that it outweighs the cake.

 

Prairie Girl Cupcakes

These cupcakes were actually more frosting than cake.

I’m sure that’s why so many people love them, but it was why I did not like them so much. It was pretty intense, and the cake wasn’t as moist as other cupcakes I’ve had, and the frosting was only okay.

I know, I’m crazy, but it’s just how I feel.

 

Prairie Girl Frosting

After one bite I had to ditch most of the frosting. It was just so much. You could frost another 6 cupcakes with the frosting I had left over!

I sent Cobi a text telling him what I thought of the cupcakes, and he said I was bananas. That ratio of frosting-to-cupcake is his dream! He asked when I’d be going back to Bakerbots to get more of my Official Favourite Cupcake in Toronto, and that got me thinking… We were heading to my Mom’s place for the weekend, and I’d told her about Bakerbots and she really wanted to try them, so why not stop by on the way north and pick up some cupcakes?

 

BakerBots Cupcakes

I did just that.

Last time I tried the Chocolate on Chocolate and Oreo (Can you see a theme in my favourite flavours?) so I got those, and then I decided to get the Chocolate Meringue and the Carrot Cupcakes as well.

 

BakerBots Cupcakes

They were all so good. My Mom’s favourite was Chocolate on Chocolate.

I loved them all. So much. Oh my goodness. If there was a fire and I could only save one thing in my home I’d be too busy eating these cupcakes to notice.

No better way to end a week than by eating massive amounts of Cupcakes.

 

And as if that wasn’t enough, we decided to do some baking later in the weekend!

Saturday was a good day, we hiked and swam and ate lots of vegetables. Sunday was a not so good day… We had Cinnamon Buns for breakfast, Chocolate Chip Cookies as a mid-afternoon snack, and for dessert my Mom and I made Sticky Toffee Pudding.

 

Dates

I love Sticky Toffee Pudding, my very favourite is at The Monk’s Table on Yonge Street. It’s warm and gooey and toffee-y. Mmm.

I saw a recipe online a few weeks ago (I think it was Martha Stewart) and I really wanted to try making it.

I had no idea Sticky Toffee Pudding had dates in it…

 

Coffee

First we chopped up the dates and let them soak in piping hot coffee for 15 minutes.

 

Sticky Toffee Pudding Batter

Then we made up the Sticky Toffee Batter,

 

Sticky Toffee Pudding Batter

Poured it into a Sticky Toffee Pan,

 

Toffee Sauce

And made the Sticky Toffee Sauce while we waited for the batter to bake.

 

Holes

When the cake was baked we poked some holes,

 

Toffee

And poured half the Toffee Sauce all over (the rest gets saved for when it’s served).

 

Toffee

I think from now on I will poke holes into every cake I bake and fill it with Toffee Sauce or Caramel Sauce or Chocolate Sauce.

 

Sticky Toffee Pudding

When it was time for dessert we heated up the rest of the Toffee Sauce and poured it all over the Vanilla Ice Cream and cake.

 

Sticky Toffee Pudding

It wasn’t quite as good as the Sticky Toffee Pudding at The Monk’s Table, but it was pretty darn delicious.

It was a fantastic (and delicious) way to end a fantastic (and delicious) weekend!!

What should I try baking next?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

