Skip to content

Happy 17th Birthday, Robin!

June 11, 2013

This past weekend Cobi and I were up at Stoney Lake to celebrate our friend Robin’s 17th birthday.

We’ve both known Robin forever, she skis at Caledon with us and I was her Nancy Greene coach many moons ago. Now she’s taller than I am and it’s a pretty big issue, but I figured I’d get over it for the weekend because there would likely be cake.

I’m a good friend like that.

 

When we arrived Friday evening I got right to work making some treats.

Brownie Batter

My Chocolate Caramel Brownies are one of my favourite things to make (along with my Chocolate Chip Caramel Cookie Bars!) so I figured they’d be perfect.

Plus, they’re super easy.

 

Rum

While I was whipping up the brownie batter we realized there was no Vanilla Extract… Thank goodness for rum!!

 

Caramel Layer

I melted down the Caramels and spread them over the brownie layer

 

Chocolate Caramel Brownies

Then I took the remaining batter and spread it over the Caramel layer.

Yum.

 

Chocolate Caramel Brownie

 

Now, I was warned that the oven was a little finicky, that it gets hotter than you want, so I took 5 minutes off the baking time. Even with the shorter time, the brownies were way overcooked!! Instead of cutting them up into squares, everyone just grabbed a spoon and jumped right in. The middles were perfect and while I thought the edges were burnt, the other girls loved them. The next day the brownies hardened a bit more and they were like fudge. They were actually so good, for a mistake!

Not the best treats I’ve ever made, that’s for sure. Cottage ovens love to keep me on my toes!!

 

Manwich

While the brownies were cooling we started on dinner.

Manwich. Hilarious.

I’ve never had a ‘Manwich’ product before, it was exciting times.

Some of the girls had never had Sloppy Joe’s before, so it was a big night for everyone!

 

Tie Dye Kit

The next day after a well rounded Birthday breakfast of bacon, eggs and pancakes (and brownies) we started on some crafts.

I think I’ve only ever done Tie-Dye once or twice in my life, and it’s always ended up looking terrible.

A few of the girls were seasoned veterans and gave me solid advice.

 

TieDye

I decided to go big and attempt a spiral design. Instead of doing the spiral in the centre of the shirt I wanted to do it lower and to the side, and I was SO impressed with the results!

 

TieDye

My t-shirts are the two on the far left. The one on the right is the spiral, and the one on the left was done by scrunching up the shirt and adding splashes of colour.

 

TieDye

All the shirts turned out really well, the colours were awesome.

 

Fighters

I think these two were fighting over who’s shirts were prettiest… Obviously mine were so I have no idea why they were even fighting.

 

Birthday Girl

After our successful attempts at Tie-Dye, a trip into town for some ice cream and a quick dip in the frigid water, it was time for the big birthday dinner and of course, cake!!

What’s better than enjoying a Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream Cake up at the cottage?

Not much. It’s one of the very best things.

Happy Birthday Robin!

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

