Skip to content

The Easter Bunny Was Here

April 1, 2013

I think it’s obvious why Easter is one of my very favourite holidays…

Any holiday that justifies eating Mini Eggs for breakfast is alright by me!

I haven’t made cupcakes in awhile so I decided to make Easter-themed cupcakes for the weekend.

 

Honey

I went for a nice fresh Easter flavour – Honey Vanilla! Cobi bought this crazy bag of Creamed Clover Honey that I used in the batter and frosting.

 

Sparkle Batter

Easter isn’t Easter without Sprinkles!! Pink, Yellow, Blue, Purple. Perfect.

 

Sprinkle Batter

I added more Sprinkles for good measure…

 

Honey Vanilla Batter with Sprinkles

Perfect Easter batter.

 

 

Honey Vanilla Batter with Sprinkles

I made 12 mini cupcakes,

 

Honey Vanilla Batter with Sprinkles

And 12 regular sized cupcakes. Both had cute wrappers. Mini in pastel plaid, big in gingham!

 

Honey Vanilla Batter with Sprinkles

Is there anything better than sprinkles?

 

Food Colouring

Just before the Superbowl I was contacted by McCormick, they asked if I wanted some samples of food colouring to use in whatever Superbowl treats I was making. Unfortunately I didn’t use food colouring in the treats I made, but now was a perfect time to give them a shot! I decided to use the liquid colour instead of the gel as I didn’t want a really deep green colour for the frosting.

 

Easter Cupcakes

I like the colour! Very Spring.

I wanted to make the frosting look more like grass, but I realized too late that my Wilton 233 tip was missing… Sad, but not the end of the world. Frosting spread and topped with Mini Eggs is still delicious!

Once the cupcakes were finished, it was time to head north for some family Easter fun!

 

Purple Champagne

Friday night was dinner with my Dad. He was serving champagne, and we figured some food colouring would make the beverages more festive! Not gonna lie, the purple beverage was weird… I’m not sure if it was purely psychological, but it tasted different. Washed down with a handful of Mini Eggs, though, and it hardly mattered.

 

S'mores

After a massive and delicious dinner, it was time for dessert. The 12 mini cupcakes were allotted to the Friday night dinner, and were added to the Make-Your-Own-S’more tray! Chocolate, White Chocolate, Caramilk, Chocolate Caramel Cups and Chocolate Wafers.

 

Ultimate S'more

While Cobi doesn’t eat sweets, he sure can put together a delicious S’more. His issue was that there was little room for the Jumbo Marshmallow…

 

Ultimate S'more

I suggested putting the Mini Cupcake into the Giant Marshmallow.

 

Ultimate S'more

A bit ambitious…

 

Ultimate S'more

This beautiful creation is mine. First layer is Mini Marshmallows and Caramilk, second layer is Mini Marshmallows and White Chocolate, and third layer is Mini Marshmallows and a Chocolate Caramel Cup.

 

S'more

I wrapped it up in tinfoil and threw it in the fire.

 

Ultimate S'more

That’s one beautiful S’more!

 

Easter Table

The next day (Saturday) we went to my Mom’s for a day of Easter fun!

 

Easter Bunny

She gets really into Easter. It’s awesome.

 

Easter Egg

First we decorated eggs. I was quite proud of my pastel plaid egg!

 

Easter Bunnies

After egg decorating (which I totally won) it was time for an Easter Egg hunt. These little monkeys were pretty excited to track down some chocolate.

 

Easter Cupcakes

After another massive and delicious dinner we got to indulge in the Easter Cupcakes!!

 

Mangled Cupcake

Thomas, one of the monkeys pictured above and also my number one frosting fan, was very excited to get his cupcake. Though instead of eating it, or even just eating the frosting, he shoved the three Mini Eggs into the cupcake and left it… It’s a good idea, shoving the Mini Eggs into the centre of the cupcake for a Mini Egg surprise, but he didn’t even reap the benefits of his brilliant idea! Madness.

 

Easter Treats

Sunday morning we woke up and the Easter Bunny had been! Mmm, Mini Eggs and Creme Eggs for breakfast.

 

Easter Hunt

After breakfast we went over the the neighbours for another Easter hunt and lunch.

 

Easter Cake

Look. At. This. Cake.

 

Easter Cake

Vanilla Cake covered in meringue.

Can you imagine anything more awesome?

This cake was brought by the Caylor family, and I love them so much more because of it.

 

Easter Cookies

There were also Chocolate Cookies, Oatmeal Cookies, Butter Tarts, Lemon Tarts, Brownies,

 

Easter Cookies

And Easter Sugar Cookies! And this was all after a massive and delicious lunch.

I love Easter.

Sunday evening we slipped into sugar comas on the sofa while watching fun movies. Cobi and I eventually dragged our full bodies back to the city and after gallons of water and a restless leg I was finally able to fall asleep.

Hope your Easter was just as delicious as mine!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Harold permalink
    April 1, 2013 6:29 pm

    Hey Cosi, that cake looks amazing and yummy too … great presentation! Miss your cupcakes up here in Caledon.

    • April 1, 2013 6:36 pm

      Sadly I can’t take credit for the meringue cake, though I wish I could! It was amazing!!

Leave a Reply

