Skip to content

Post-New York Treats

March 20, 2013

New York was full of delicious treats! As soon as I got  back to Toronto I ate the treats I brought home with me… And had nothing to fill the void!

 

Invitation Lining

To top it all off, I came home to this delicious-looking wedding invitation! Lauren and Aaron, you are awesome.

 

Marshmallows

The weekend after the NY excursion we went to the cottage of the bride in question. She had a cupboard full of marshmallows and Rice Krispies, so it was easy to pick a treat to make!

 

Chocolate

There was no pan to put the Rice Krispies in, so we used a Bundt pan! Much more fancy. Then Cobi had the brilliant idea to cover the Rice Krispies in milk and semi-sweet chocolate. He’s been spending too much time with me.

 

Lake

While the chocolate was setting we decided to be proactive and work off the treats before eating them. The lake was still completely frozen so we grabbed the shovels and started clearing the ice!

 

Hockey Rink

What a beautiful rink! We even flooded it Saturday night so it was smoothysmooth on Sunday.

 

Hockey

I prefer ski boots.

 

Rice Krispie Bundt

After some hockey (where the girls destroyed the boys) it was time to try the delectable treat.

It was some serious chocolate. Some pieces had an inch or more of chocolate! Next time I’d like to try doing smaller layers of chocolate throughout the Rice Krispies, I think that would work out well.

 

Lil Scoops

On our way home Sunday we stopped by the grocery store to pick up milk and other necessities, and I found these. Chocolate eggs filled with a Chocolate or Vanilla mousse! Oh man I love Easter. I can’t wait to see what the Easter Bunny brings this year!

 

Spread

I also found this in the PC Black Label area. I love the Black Label section, you can find some great stuff! My favourite Vanilla is PC Black Label. I bought this (and a loaf of Wonderbread) to try, but it wasn’t as good as I was hoping. Although, I’m quite positive it would be absolutely delicious on waffles! I just need a waffle maker…

It is now Wednesday night and Cobi is out at the Leafs game with someone who is not me…

Not that I mind.

I’m just going to drown my sorrows in chocolate.

 

Ingredients

A friend of mine has started a new blog called A Jumble Of Joys and she recently posted a recipe for Chocolate Avocado Pudding. Now, I’ve never been one to make healthy desserts, but I’ve had enough people tell me it’s delicious and that I had to try it. I altered her recipe slightly based on what I had in my kitchen, but stayed mostly true to it.

 

Blender

I cut up the avocado, added the chocolate, maple syrup, vanilla and milk and voila! An easy dessert done in minutes.

 

Chocolate Avocado Pudding

I plopped it in a bowl but it looked less than appetizing, so I stirred it up til the green bits disappeared.

 

Chocolate Avocado Pudding

Better.

It took me a few bites to decide if I liked it. The avocado doesn’t have a strong flavour, but adds a freshness to the pudding. I think if I played around with the amounts of maple syrup and milk and vanilla, maybe sub the syrup for another sweetener, I could come up with something perfect!

Anita, thanks for the fantastic inspiration. I have to say I enjoyed the treat, even though it was seriously lacking in the calories I’ve grown so fond of!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. anitam27 permalink
    March 20, 2013 9:47 pm

    I’m glad you enjoyed it! And Cosify it up, so you like it even more! Your New York pics make me miss the city and Magnolia oh so much.

    • March 20, 2013 10:37 pm

      I was going to add some stuff to it but I wanted to taste the recipe in it’s original form first! I think I’ll have some fun playing with it, seeing what I can come up with! But I fear I will undo any health benefits it may have had in the first place 😛

      • anitam27 permalink
        March 21, 2013 11:49 pm

        nonsense! those health benefits are a base. now you go on ahead and add those goodies haha. i sure did.

Leave a Reply

