Skip to content

Anniversary Treats

February 24, 2013

Every year for our anniversary Cobi and I make each other gifts.

The tradition started on our first anniversary. I was still in school and Cobi was working on a startup so neither of us had money, so I joked that we should make each other gifts out of macaroni. The idea took off, and the Pasta Anniversary was born.

Year Two the theme was Lego. Year Three, Sewing.

Pasta Anniversary

For the Pasta Anniversary he made me a pasta ski racer.

 

Picture

For the Lego Anniversary he took this ^ picture…

 

Lego Anniversary

And made it out of Lego.

 

Sewing Anniversary

And for the Sewing Anniversary he made me a Onesie!!

 

As you can see, each year Cobi blows me away with his gifts. His are ALWAYS better than mine, and I wanted to beat him this year.

(The Anniversary is a full-on competition, not a celebration of our love or whatever.)

This year the theme was Baking.

Cobi is going down.

 

As soon as we decided on the theme, I knew exactly what I was going to make. I just wasn’t sure how I was going to do it…

M&Ms

First I started with some batter. Vanilla with M&M’s, sounds perfect!

 

M&M Batter

Spooned it into a long baking pan and tossed it into the oven.

 

Reese's Cups

While that was baking I prepped the next batch of batter, which was full of chopped Reese’s Cups.

 

Reese's Batter

These ones I split into two smaller pans and baked.

Any idea what I’m doing yet?

 

White Chocolate & PB Chips

Last was Vanilla Batter with White Chocolate and Peanut Butter Chips.

 

Skor Bits

That didn’t seem like enough, so I added Skor bits.

 

White Chocolate, Peanut Butter and Skor Batter

Again I split it into two pans and tossed them into the oven.

 

Layer 1

After all the cakes were baked and cooled it was time to get started. I slopped some sugary frosting on half the cake.

 

Layer 2

Then I started piling the square cakes up.

 

 

Cake Hill

Once the cakes were stacked and carved the way I liked, I covered the whole thing with white frosting.

 

Hill Side View

What does this look like to you?

 

Fruit by the Foot

No Anniversary gift is complete without some Fruit By The Foot!

 

Fruit by the Foot

I cut up strips of Fruit by the Foot, separated the red and the blue, and wrapped the different coloured strips around Pretzel Sticks.

 

Gates

Et Voila! Ski gates! Now do you see where I’m going with this?

 

White Chocolate

Now to add some fun details. I melted down some white chocolate and added green food colouring.

 

Green Chocolate

I dipped mini Ice Cream Cones into the green Chocolate to make…

 

Trees

Trees!!

 

Snowy Trees

I sprinkled some Coconut on them to make them snowy.

 

Gates and TreesLooking good so far!

 

Mini Marshmallows

Now it’s time to make a skier Cobi.

No one likes fondant, but it’s the easiest way to make figures. So I made fondant out of Mini Marshmallows and Icing Sugar! Much more delicious, and super easy to make.

 

Fondant

Looking a little bit like the Michelin man, but just wait til he’s painted…

 

Cobi's Jacket

Just look at that puffy red jacket and radical goggles! Cobi to a tee.

 

Painting Cobi

Next came the corduroy pants. Melted chocolate should do the trick!

 

Fondant Cobi

Pasta skis, spaghetti poles, and a mini Reese’s helmet and he’s the perfect racer!

He was a bit top heavy and kept falling backward so I used a wooden stake to keep him up.

 

Snowman

I used the extra fondant and Reese’s Cup to make a snowman, with spaghetti arms painted with chocolate.

(Note the rum in the background… it was instrumental in making this cake happen)

 

Happy Anniversary

I had a Fruit by the Foot and some melted chocolate left over, so I decided to make a banner.

 

Ski Cake

I put all the pieces together on the cake and was really happy with how it turned out!!

 

Side View

Look at the terrain change on that hill. Just like a race on Knight Flight!

 

Cobi's Cake

Love it!!

Want to see what Cobi made for me?

 

Chocolate Caramel Bacon Brownie

Chocolate Bacon Caramel Brownies with Caramelized bacon, covered in a Dark Chocolate Ganache and surrounded by more homemade Caramel and Caramelized Bacon Bits.

Boy does he know me well.

Inside View

The inside was full of layers of Caramelized Bacon, Caramel, and Chocolate.

 

Bacon Dessert

Oh, and he made me Ice Cream! Bacon Rum Ice Cream to be exact. I can’t even explain how good it was.

 

Baking Anniversary

Happy Anniversary indeed!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    February 24, 2013 9:24 am

    You guys are so inventive and talented! You have a boyfriend who can build, sew, and cook…you hit the jackpot my friend! And he has a girlfriend who can do the same so he is pretty damn lucky too, I’d say! šŸ˜‰ Happy FOURTH Anniversary you two!

  2. Lynn Wood permalink
    February 24, 2013 3:43 pm

    Wow this was a tough one to judge you two! (Happy anniversary by the way) Cosi it is a given that your variety and , themed gift is awesome! and yet Cobi deserves kudos for the bravery (or self assured innocence?) of his deliciously disgusting marriage of flavours! Ok it’s a tie, and because you have each other you both win all around anyway. Love to you both and now Get Outside and Walk it Off before your hearts burst for God’s sake!

    • February 24, 2013 5:34 pm

      Good thing we had a Slalom race this afternoon, that worked us a little!!
      Gotta say, the inclusion of candied bacon in any dessert is a must. He did a really good job!

  3. Ruth Wheelwright permalink
    March 1, 2013 10:53 am

    ok even i have to admit these homemade, obvioulsy not bought at tiffany’s tokens of affection do have a certain charm……

Leave a Reply

