Skip to content

Gluten Free (And Gluten FULL) Baking

February 13, 2013

Where did January go?

Seriously, the last month and a half has just flown by.

Maybe it’s because the ski season has been so great, or maybe it’s because I’ve been busy baking delicious treats…

It all started on Super Bowl Sunday. I had no idea what I was going to bake. Cupcakes with team-coloured frosting was boring and it was also my Dad’s birthday so I needed to take that into consideration. He’s not a big sweet eater, last year I made him a Carrot Cupcake with no frosting! So I decided to do what any good baker does – make what I wanted to eat and forget everyone else.
Chocolate Chip Oreo Cookie Batter

My new favourite cookies are my Chocolate Chip Oreo Cookies. I have made them approximately one million times already, and I love them more and more each time.

 

Chocolate Chip Oreo Cookies

I made a double batch for the Super Bowl party I was attending as I’m known to eat a hefty amount of raw dough, as well as ‘testing’ more cookies than is deemed appropriate or necessary.

 

Chocolate Chip Oreo Cookies

Good thing too, they went fast! Luckily there were some left over for me to bring back to the city to enjoy during the week!

 

Heart Cake

Oh, has anyone seen cakes like this before? I love them! My friend Robin has a wicked cake pan that leaves a heart-shaped space between layers that you can fill with whatever you want. She made a Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Mousse filling for the party, it was unbelievably good. I’ve seen cakes like this with Ornament middles for Christmas, or even Christmas Trees. So cool.

 

Gluten Free Cookie Batter

My next baking quest was Gluten Free Cookies. My friend Kim can’t eat gluten, which means she can’t eat ANYTHING fun. So instead of eating cookies in front of her while laughing at her sorrow we decided to make Gluten Free treats! Now, have you seen a recipe for gluten free anything? There are some seriously bizarre ingredients listed. She ended up buying a mix from Williams Sonoma (for a million dollars) and we gave it a shot.

 

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

They looked delicious. They smelled delicious. They even tasted delicious!! They were a touch dryer than regular cookies and got even more dry the next day, but they were still pretty tasty. I may need to try a Gluten Free recipe from scratch, just to see how it goes…

 

The next day was Snowmageddon. I decided to work from home because I had no desire to dig my way out of my un-shoveled apartment entrance and risk TTC ridiculousness. Cobi figured it would be a good day to get his passport renewed because the offices would be empty, so he drove from Yonge and Davisville to Yonge and Sheppard… Except it took him over 2 hours to get to Yonge and York Mills, where he decided to ditch his car in the TTC parking lot and take the subway the rest of the way. By the time he finished up at the passport office (he was right, it was empty!) and got back to his car, a lot of the same cars were still stuck and the bottom of the hills. GET SNOW TIRES PEOPLE!! Cobi managed to drive around the delightful snow tire-less mongrels and made it back home safely – 4 hours after his initial departure. I’m glad I didn’t leave the sofa.

Hwy 401

Driving up north was pretty interesting. Most entrances to the 401 were blocked either because cars were stuck blocking the way (GET SNOW TIRES!), or because the on-ramps hadn’t been plowed, or because the opposite on-ramp had been plowed creating a giant drift blocking the other ramp. Luckily the westbound ramp had been plowed, but the poor eastbound-ers were blocked by a gigantic drift. Our good luck ended there however. The westbound Express ramp was blocked by a bunch of Snow Plows who decided to stop for a snooze. No idea why they weren’t moving, we assume one was stuck. We managed to back up and get into the Collectors lane, where it was smooth sailing the rest of the way. It was like a Post Apocalyptic drive, the highway was mostly empty with abandoned cars all over the place – seriously people, GET SNOW TIRES!

 

Mini Eggs

Good thing I had a Family Sized bag of Mini Eggs waiting for me up north. Mmmmmm.

 

After an incredible weekend of skiing (lots of snow and our team made it to the finals, woohoo!) it was back to the city for another week and more baking!

Cobi and I had a busy week ahead of us (a new episode of The Walking Dead to watch, dinner with friends on Friday, Family Day Monday) so I decided to make a big pan of brownies for all the occasion. Not just any brownies, mind you.

Brownie Batter

These are the most amazing Brownies in the world. Each layer is something delightful and delicious. For example, the base layer of brownie batter looks delicious yet simple, but little do you know I added a can of Sweetened Condensed Milk to the batter to make it extra gooey and fantastic!


Chocolate Chips

Then I dumped an entire bag of Chocolate Chips on top of the brownie layer, because, well, why not?

 

Caramels

Then I melted down some Caramels because I’m really into caramel these days… I melted them with Sweetened Condensed Milk instead of Whipping Cream to make them really creamy.

Caramel Layer

I poured the Caramel over the Chocolate Chips and spread it out as best I could.

 

Top Layer

Finally I took the rest of the Brownie Batter and poured it over the Caramel! Oh man.

 

Chocolate Caramel Brownies

Look at those! To die for. It was TORTURE waiting for them to set up enough to cut cleanly. Would you judge me if I told you I grabbed a fork and dug right in..?

 

Chocolate Caramel Brownies

They turned out perfectly. I loved the addition of Sweetened Condensed Milk. It made the Brownies really fudgey and gooey, like they weren’t fully baked. Mmmmm.

 

Oh, one final thought to leave you feeling romantic for Valentine’s Day…

Snuggle

Isn’t this nice. He loves her so much that he’s texting her a love note while cuddling her!

Romance at its finest, friends.

Have a Happy Valentine’s Day and a glorious long weekend! Hurrah for families!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

