Skip to content

Back To Baking

January 22, 2013

Well hello there!

Last night was the first time I’ve felt like baking since Christmas. Over the holidays there was just so much food and so many treats to eat, I’ve only just finished my stocking chocolate! Not to mention that with the new year comes ski season, a new term of ballet, and a general feeling of laziness…

But now that the stocking chocolate have been consumed, I needed something to fill the void – Chocolate Chip Caramel Cookie Squares?

Yep. That sounds about right.

 

Oven

Hello old friend, I’ve missed you so!

 

Dough Layer

First step was to make a batch of Chocolate Chip Cookie dough and press half into a brownie pan.

 

Top Dough Layer

Next I melted down some caramels and spread them over the cookie layer, and then pressed the other half of cookie dough on top. You can see the caramel peeking out, yum!

 

Chocolate Chip Caramel Cookie Bars

I popped them in the oven and once the 30 slowest minutes of my life went by, I took them out and let them set before cutting them into generous squares.

 

Chocolate Chip Caramel Cookie Bars

I’ve made these once before and I loved them, so I was looking forward to making them again!

 

Chocolate Chip Caramel Cookie Bars

I let these ones set longer than the ones I made last time so they were much cleaner when I cut them.

Not that a messy Chocolate Chip Caramel Cookie Square would deter me from eating it…

 

Dutch Dreams

Oh, has anyone been to Dutch Dreams??

I went for the first time a couple weeks ago, I can’t believe I never knew this place existed!!

 

Ice Cream

This monster is one scoop… I was told the scoops were large so I decided to do a half scoop of Cookies & Creme and half a scoop of this Chocolate Brownie flavour that was SO good, thinking it’d be a good sized post-Stockyards burger dessert…. As you can see the scoops are HUGE and then they top it with Whipped Cream, Pineapple, Kiwis, Strawberries and Chocolate. Amazing.

 

Sharing

I credit these two for introducing me to the magnificence. Dana, you’re a star.

 

Ice Cream

Cobi was eying my ice cream all night… Here he is going in for the kill…

 

Share

He’s lucky I’m such a nice person who loves to share… Okay that’s not true, he took a bite without my consent. Jerk.

 

Chocolate Bread

Oh and they sold fun things there too!! Chocolate for your bread? Back off, Nutella, I have a new favourite chocolatey sandwich topping!

 

Huh?

Now I have no idea what this is… The container is really creepy.

 

Hope you’re all staying warm today! I’m not going to lie, I’m loving the snow. I refuse to have any more race days that look like this:

Jozo WeiderBleh.

Enjoy the pretty snow and warm your home by throwing a delicious treat into the oven tonight 🙂

 

For now I leave you with this last piece of advice:

Eat More Cake

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    January 23, 2013 6:51 am

    I ate sprinkles on toast all the time growing up…it’s totally a Dutch thing! You can get different flavours and the one that you said looked creepy is like speculoos I think…like gingerbread deliciousness! You are bringing me here when I get back….FACT. xo

    • January 23, 2013 9:30 pm

      Ooh I want gingerbread deliciousness!! I didn’t buy anything but I just might have to go back and give them all a try.
      Oh yes, the moment you’re back in my arms we’re going for crazy Dutch treats!!

  2. madelaine sumner permalink
    February 1, 2013 9:54 pm

    http://surisburnbook.tumblr.com/ This is golden

Leave a Reply

