Skip to content

Christmas and New Years

January 1, 2013

Happy New Year!!

We had a pretty spectacular 2012. Cobi and I got settled in our new apartment, he’s back and school and is rocking it (straight A’s all around – nerd alert!) and he and his business partners just launched a new iPhone app! (Shameless plug ahead…) Download JukeBoxer if you know what’s good for you. It’s a really fun singing app and it’s super addicting!!

Anyway, 2012 was really fun and extra delicious. I think the highlights of the year were the Chocolate Chip Caramel Cookie Squares, the Grilled Cheese Birthday Cake, the Chocolate Chip Oreo Brownie Bars, and the Homemade Snickers Bars. I was pretty proud of the Homemade Butter Tarts too. Ooh and the Strawberry Cheesecake Bites!!

Yep. It was a delicious year.

And I ended the year with a bevy of treats for my coworkers, and made even more while home for Christmas with my family!

The weekend before Christmas my Mom had some friends over for a dinner party, and she needed a delicious dessert to go along with it.

Peppermint Meringue

This masterpiece is Peppermint Meringue with layers of Peppermint Ice Cream and Whipped Cream and Chocolate Shavings! So light and airy, it doesn’t even count as a dessert.

 

Peppermint Meringue

From this angle it’s a bit crumbly, as a bag of milk was haphazardly placed upon the delicate meringue in the fridge… Naughty naughty. Oh well, it was delicious regardless!

 

Snuggly Friends

We had a nice relaxing Christmas. These girls represent our holidays perfectly.

 

Chairlift

Our main activities included eating, drinking, with a smattering of skiing here and there! Pretty perfect.

 

After a few days at my Mom’s we went to my Dad’s for some more Christmas fun.

Stockings

Are these not the best stockings ever? You’d be surprised how much chocolate and candy can fit into a plain grey tube sock!!

 

Christmas Tree

I think the Flying Pig tree topper is the best part of Christmas!!

We exchanged some good gifts; Birdseed, Wasabi Peas, chocolates, but I’d say the most exciting gift was all was my Vintage Easy Bake Oven!!

 

Easy Bake Oven

I had an Easy Bake Oven when I was little, and we stored it in it’s box in the garage when I wasn’t using it. One day my dad was cleaning out the garage and accidentally threw out the box with my Easy Bake Oven in it!! 15 years later he replaced it 🙂 He hunted Kijiji for an older model, and managed to find someone just up the road who had one for sale! Best gift ever!!

 

Refills

I also got some refill packs so I could start baking immediately. Checker Cake, Whoopie Pies and Sugar Cookies!! Yum.

 

Batter

I decided to go big first – Checker Cake! First step was to pour out the Strawberry and Chocolate powder, add water and stir. It was a very labour intensive process…

 

Batter Separator

Next I used the Batter Separator thingy to keep the two flavours separate as I poured them in a pan.

 

Layer 1

Then I removed the separator and popped the pan in the oven!

 

Oven

Look at those lightbulbs work their magic.

 

Layer 2

While the first layer was cooking I prepared the second layer.

I was pretty impressed with the oven, the moment I plugged it in the lightbulbs immediately got hot! It took less than 10 minutes for each layer to bake. Granted, the cakes were quite small, but still!

 

Easy Bake Cake

After all three layers were baked and cooled, I added water to the frosting powder, stirred it up, and frosted the cake. Baking is really easy when all you have to do is add water…

 

Checker Cake

Look how cute it is!! It was small, it could fit in the palm of my hand. So fun.

I’m so excited to try other treats!!!

 

Hope you all had a fabulous 2012, and I hope your 2013 is even better!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

