Skip to content

Christmas Treats

December 20, 2012

I decided that I needed to end this year on a high note.

A sugar high note!

I had lots of ideas for delicious Christmas treats and I couldn’t decide which to make, so I made them all!!

Homemade Peanut Butter Cups, Peanut Butter Tootsie Roll Fudge, Mint Oreo Brownies and Peppermint Bark.

Oh ya.

 

To make sure I got all the treats done in time, I started my baking on Monday. I decided to make the Peanut Butter Cups first as they’d freeze well and keep easily for the week.

Peanut Butter Filling

The first step was making the Peanut Butter Filling. Peanut Butter, Brown Sugar and Butter. Sounds like a pretty great start to me!

 

Powdered Sugar

Once that was all melted I slowly added in the Powdered Sugar to thicken it up.

 

Peanut Butter Filling

I tossed the mixture into the fridge for a few minutes to help it set up, then rolled the filling into little balls and flattened them out a bit.

 

Homemade Peanut Butter Cups

Then I melted Milk Chocolate and spooned a small amount into miniature cupcake wrappers. I let that set then added a Peanut Butter Ball, and then covered that in more Milk Chocolate.

 

Peanut Butter Cups

Voila! Homemade Peanut Butter Cups!!

If only my big brother was coming home for Christmas, he’d love these.

It’s not too late, Pate…!

 

On Tuesday I made the peanut Butter Tootsie Roll Fudge.

How many Tootsie Rolls are too many Tootsie Rolls?

Tootsie Rolls

Trick question. There is no such thing as too many Tootsie Rolls!

There is also no such thing as too many pairs of shoes…

 

Fudge Ingredients

Have you ever seen such beautiful ingredients?

 

Peanut Butter Tootsie Roll Fudge

After about a million years the Tootsie Rolls finally melted, and it was time to add in the Powdered Sugar.

So I’m pretty much The Hulk now. Trying to stir a huge amount of Powdered Sugar into melted Tootsie Rolls is the most difficult thing I have ever done in my entire life.

Peanut Butter Tootsie Roll Fudge

Once my Hulkishness had finished mixing in all the Powdered Sugar, I pressed the Fudge into a pan and added red and green M&Ms for a festive touch.

 

Peanut Butter Tootsie Roll Fudge

Not sure I’d ever make Fudge again because my poor little armies didn’t like all the effort! But of all the Fudge, this is definitely the best Fudge. Fact.

 

Last night I had a friend come over to help me make the Brownies and the Bark.

Mint Oreos

Originally my plan was to make Chocolate Chip Oreo Brownie Bars, but on the weekend my Dad bought me these Mint Oreo cookies and I thought how good they’d be baked into Double Chocolate Brownies!!

 

Mint Oreo Cookie Layer

So we whipped up some brownie batter and filled it with chocolate chunks, then poured half into the base of a pan.

Then we added a layer of Mint Oreo Cookies and poured the rest of the Brownie Batter on top of the cookies.

 

Mint Oreo Brownies

They turned out perfectly, so flaky and gooey! Not as intense as the Ultimate Dessert Bars, but still really good.

 

Finally we made the Peppermint Bark!

Dark Chocolate Layer

We melted the Dark Chocolate and spread it out on some parchment paper and let it set.

 

Smashing Candy Canes

While the Dark Chocolate layer was firming up, my Helpful Helper Stacey was daintily breaking up the Candy Canes.

 

Smashing Candy Canes

After Helpy Helperton realized that daintiness was for suckers, she really went at it.

 

Candy Cane Bark

We poured the White Chocolate on top of the Dark Chocolate, then sprinkled the whole thing with the smashed Candy Canes. For something that takes no time at all to make, it looks pretty impressive!!

 

Treat Tins

Once everything was all finished, it was time to fill up the festive tins. I had a lot of fun picking them out at the Dollar Store.

As you can see, the tins are so full of treats that the lids don’t stay on!!

 

Treat Tin

Each tin got a hearty helping of Peanut Butter Cups, Fudge, Brownies and Bark. Mmmmmm can you think of a better gift?

 

Treats!

I was a little overzealous with the amount of treats I made, so there were quite a few leftovers! After sending Stacey home with a full box of treats I packaged the rest up for Cobi to bring to school today to share with his classmates, as it’s their final day of exams. What better way to celebrate the end of term than by slipping into a sugar induced coma?

 

I know it’s not technically the last day before the holidays, but the sooner I got these treats out of my apartment the better!!

Merry Christmas to All, and to All a Gooooood Luck with your Dentist Bill!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

