Skip to content

Halloween Treats!

October 28, 2012

Happy pre-Halloween weekend!!

Last night I went to a Lumberjacks and Jills party, an all-Canadian themed party celebrating two Brit friends finally gaining permanent residency!!

Everything was Canadian, from the outfits – plaid and flannel galore – to the decor – trees, axes and maple leafs! I was asked to bring treats, so I had to make sure they too were Canadian themed!

 

First I decided to go with Nanaimo Bars – very Canadian.

First step was to mix together the graham cracker crumbs, coconut and chopped walnuts.

 

Next I added the Cocoa Powder and Sugar, then an egg and some butter and mixed it all up!

 

I pressed the mixture into the base of the pan, and prepped the next layer.

 

The middle layer was a vanilla custard,

 

And finally came the chocolate layer (my favourite)!! I let it set then cut into bars.

 

This is the first time I’ve made Nanaimo bars, as I’ve never really been a fan of treats with coconut. But I really loved these!!

 

My next treat was really fun. I love Cheesecake, but I didn’t want to make a full sized one and I needed to find a way to make it Canadian.


I figured Strawberry Cheesecake was the way to go, because it’s red and white! And to make it more fun, I decided to make mini individual Strawberry Cheesecake Bites!

 

The first step was to cut off the bottoms of the strawberries so they could stand up, and hollow out the centres.

 

Next I made a cheesecake filling, and piped it into the centre of the Strawberries.

 

Then I sprinkled Graham Cracker Crumbs onto the top of each,

 

And I decided to drizzle chocolate on top because, well, chocolate makes everything better.

I loved these Strawberry Cheesecake bites!!

 

I know these weren’t very Halloween-y, but they were some of the best Halloween treats I’ve ever made 😛

What sort of Halloween treats are you making this year?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

