Skip to content

Why I Love Oreos…

October 3, 2012

To be quite honest, I wasn’t really an Oreo fan as a child. I preferred a chocolatier cookie, like my mom’s homemade Oatmeal Fudge Cookies!

As the years went by I realized just how amazing and completely delicious Oreos are, and how much I need them in my life! I use them ALL the time in my baking, and I dip any leftover cookies in peanut butter while snuggled up on the sofa watching old Gilmore Girl reruns.

Oh yes, Oreo is my homeboy.

Lately Oreo has been in the media for their major cookie creativity, with different ‘Daily Twist’ cookies designed to represent special events.

The most controversial (and my favourite) was the Oreo Pride Cookie. They got a lot of flack for this photo, but they didn’t back down. Way to go, Oreo!

(By the way, this cookie needs to get produced. Do it.)

They also have popular culture references, like a cookie for ‘Talk Like A Pirate Day’

Even one for the popular (and bizarre) Gangnam Style dance!

Another of my favourites is the 40th Anniversary of Pong cookie!!

 

Not only is the brand something that I admire, but I also love the product itself!

In the last few months especially I have been using Oreos everywhere in my baking!

 

They make an excellent middle layer in my Chocolate Chip Oreo Brownie Bars!

 

They are a delicious addition to any cookie, whether a classic chocolate chip cookie

 

or a Chocolate Oatmeal Oreo Cookie!

 


They make a perfect base for Cheesecake Cupcakes

 

And are perfect to start off classic cupcakes, too!

 

Basically, they turn any treat into an extra special treat!!

 

Oh, can I also mention the crazy flavours they have?!


Ice Cream. Double Stuff. Birthday. Peanut Butter. Golden. Candy Corn (!), Mint, Chocolate Creme, Strawberry Milkshake – the list goes on and on!

 

I’ve not tried them all (I’ve only been lucky enough to try the Classic, Double Stuff, Birthday and Golden) but they all look pretty amazing.

I seriously need to get my hands on a box of the Triple Double Stuff Oreos…

 

The main reason I’m writing this post (other than the fact that I would happily marry Oreos if I could) is because I was given the opportunity to receive photos and videos from an event Oreo held yesterday in New York’s Times Square.

Using crowd suggestions, Oreo came up with a real-time advertisement to commemorate the 100th Daily Twist.

“Fans watch as OREO creates its first-ever crowd-sourced ad in a virtual office in Times Square to celebrate the finale of the groundbreaking 100-day OREO Daily Twist campaign on October 2, 2012 in New York. The 100th Daily Twist celebrated the anniversary of the first high five, which was inspired by fan submissions from around the country. (Brian Ach /AP Images for Oreo)”

 

“In a virtual office in Times Square, OREO created the 100th “Daily Twist” ad, the finale to its groundbreaking 100-day long campaign, on October 2, 2012 in New York.  Fans around the country made history by inspiring the creative for the brand’s first-ever, crowd-sourced ad, watching it unfold live. The finale ad celebrated the anniversary of the first high five. (Brian Ach /AP Images for Oreo)”

 

And here it is, the winning suggestion:

Celebrating the Anniversary of the 1st High Five!

I consider myself somewhat of a high five connoisseur, and I appreciate the importance of a good high five. Judging by the marking in the cookie, that looks like a pretty solid high five!

 

Way to go, Oreo! You are officially my favourite cookie!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

