Skip to content

Hello Dollies and Butter Tarts

September 23, 2012

As I’m sure you’ve been able to deduce (because you’re all so clever and incredibly good looking), I love to bake.

It helps when I have co-workers who love treats because it means that I can bake as often as I’d like without having treats laying around the apartment that I inevitably eat all by myself…

In the 4 months I’ve been at my new job I’ve baked all kinds of treats for the office. Chocolate Caramel Brownie Bites, White Chocolate Peanut Butter Blondies, Chocolate Chip Oreo Brownie Bars and Mint Chocolate Cupcakes just to name a few. All have gone over very well, but they apparently were not yet satisfied.

Last week I received some special requests, so this weekend I’ve been busy preparing the most delicious Hello Dollies and Butter Tarts ever imagined by humanity!!

 

I was a little wary of making Hello Dollies because, according to Cobi, no one makes Hello Dollies better than his Grammie… Also, I dislike Coconut and the use of Coconut in baked goods, so these are definitely not the treat for me. But I’m certainly not one to turn down a request, so I figured I’d take the chance. And I’m pretty happy with the way they turned out! Obviously not as great as Grammie’s, but a close second I’m sure.

First I pressed Graham Crackers mixed with Butter into the bottom of a pan.

 

Next came the mixture of Coconut, Chocolate Chips and Nuts. Ideally I would have used pecans, but I couldn’t find any and all we had around were Cashews… So Cashews it is!

 

Cover all that goodness with some Sweetened Condensed Milk and throw it in the oven!

 

Oh ya, look at that beauty!!

 

Sweetened Condensed Milk and Chocolate as far as the eye can see.

 

Like I said, not up to Grandmother Standards, but still pretty good.

 

Next came the Butter Tarts.

I was nervous for the Butter Tarts as I’ve never made my own pasty before, but I’m pretty happy with how it turned out! I cut out a bunch of circles (using the lid of a PAM can as I didn’t have a circular cookie cutter) and rolled them out even thinner and placed them in a cupcake tray.

 

I put some raisins in the base of the pastry cups then filled them with the Butter Tart filling, and into the oven they went!

 

Et voilà! Butter Tarts!!

 

I’m really happy with how they turned out. A couple of the pastry cups were a bit overcooked (the woes of baking in a cottage oven) but most were a perfect golden brown.

 

Hope the treats are up to the expectations of the office!!

 

Oh yes, I’d also like to say a huge thank you to my most excellent baking helper…

What a treat.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth Wheelwright permalink
    September 24, 2012 10:02 am

    Those are the BEST looking butter tarts!!!!!!
    I am putting in my request for a butter tart pie for Thanksgiving. Pumpkin pie is, well, such a bad bad colour i mean who wants dirty orange food.
    But dark rich brown shiny food with a hint of auburn………now that sounds appetizing!!!!!!!

    • September 24, 2012 10:07 am

      Well yes, we couldn’t POSSIBLY have desserts that are not beautiful as well as delicious!!

Leave a Reply

