Skip to content

Mint Chocolate Cupcakes

July 27, 2012

I’M BACK!

Oh how I’ve missed you all, and how I’ve missed the delicious smell of baking cupcakes filling my apartment!!

Cobi and I have invited a couple of friends up to his cottage for a weekend of fun in the sun, and I figured I had to provide a tasty treat! Since I hadn’t made cupcakes in forever, I decided there definitely had to be some cupcakes. I asked around for some flavour preferences, and without skipping a beat Cobi’s brother said ‘MINT CHOCOLATE!’

Mint Chocolate it is, then!

I decided to change up my go-to recipe, adding a different mint filling and trying out a meringue frosting. Not sure it’s as good as my usual recipe, but they’re still pretty darn tasty.

 

I started with the batter, just basic (but delicious) chocolate.

 

I had meant to put in mint chocolate chips, but of course didn’t realize until after they’d finished baking… whoops.

 

While the cupcakes were baking I prepared the Mint Chocolate Ganache filling. I went a little crazy with the mint, but since there was no mint in the cupcakes I figured it’d be fine. And as Cobi advised, ‘There is no such thing as too much mint!’ Hmmm… we’ll see.

 

While I was finishing up the filling, my handy assistant Cobi cut out the centres of the cupcake. He said that because he helped, he can now tell everyone he made the cupcakes… Dream on, baby.

 

I used a piping bag with a large tip to fill the cupcakes with the Mint Chocolate Ganache,

 

and then replaced the tops. Each cupcake is filled to the brim with ganache, so some of the lids didn’t really fit back on! Good thing we’ll have a delicious frosting to cover up the tops.

 

I topped each cupcake with an airy meringue, lightly tinted green. I added a small amount of mint to the frosting to give it a hint of flavour, but not too much that it was Mint Overload!

 

As a final touch I topped each cupcake with the Mint Chocolate Chips I’d forgotten to add to the batter.

Like I said, I don’t think these are as good as my usual Mint Chocolate Cupcakes, but we’ll see how the masses vote this weekend!

 

Happy Friday 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

