Skip to content

Grilled Desserts

January 12, 2012

I’ve been a bad blogger. Even worse, I’ve been a bad baker.

Now that the ski season has officially begun and my hours at work have increased, my free time is pretty limited.

So I figured my step back into the baking world had better be a good one. It had to be more of a leap than a step. Perhaps a leap with a hint of hip swaggle.

My leapy hip swaggley baking endeavour?

Can you guess?

If you guessed either pound cake or cheesecake, you’re only partially correct.

Add the two together, grill it, and you’ve got yourself a delicious treat!!

 

As I’m sure you already know (because I’m mentioned it a billion times) The Construction Site is the best new restaurant in the city – It’s true, I’m hardly even that biased. I’ve posted about their amazing S’more grilled cheese before, which got me thinking about other dessert grilled cheese ideas. A friend of Cobi’s mentioned something about a Cheesecake grilled cheese idea, and I wanted to try it out as soon as I heard about it! Unfortunately my schedule has been a little ridiculous, so I’ve only just had the time to test out the idea.

 

Step One – The pound cake ‘bread’. Dense and delicious. Step one turned out pretty well. Baked in a loaf pan it’ll be really easy to slice like regular bread.

Step Two: The cheesy cheesecake filling. I baked it in the same loaf pan as the poundcake, so both would be the same size, thus easy to sandwich.

Coat the ‘bread’ in graham cracker crumbs, add some melty sour cream topping and voila! A beautiful new dessert grilled cheese!!

 

Look at that beauty. Ohhhh man.

You should all definitely come out to Yonge and Eg and request the Grilled Cheesecake!

 

Great idea Steph 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2012 11:19 pm

    Thanks for outing the grilled cheesecake before I could officially do it. Geeze, some people.

Leave a Reply

