Skip to content

TIMBERRRR!

December 20, 2011

It was a busy day at work today, what with Christmas being four days away! With all the rushing around I was excited when my break rolled around. As always, I grabbed my coat and walked a block south to The Construction Site for some warm soup and a delicious grilled cheese sandwich. As I got settled I checked my emails on my phone, and was greeted by an email from my father with a sad face in the subject line. When I opened the email, this is what I found…

 

 

I couldn’t help but laugh. What a mess! Our Star Pig’s ears fell off! Poor piggy.

This mess is all thanks to Elisabeth, my dad’s crazy yellow lab. She’s a sweet pup, but her stomach always gets the best of her. And after seeing and smelling the sugar cookie snowflakes that hung off the tree, she just couldn’t help herself. She managed to snag a few low-hanging cookies, but after we moved the rest to the top of the tree she had to be sneakier. I suppose she did a run-and-jump-ninja maneuver… Whatever it was, she was successful. Too successful! Not only did she get the cookies, she got the whole tree!!

Poor puppy is going to have a tummy ache tonight.

 

Oh, I also discovered where my baking talents stemmed from!

Last night I stopped by my grandparents’ house for a quick visit. Apparently my Grandmother and Grandfather had done some holiday baking earlier in the week, and it had gone slightly awry…

 

When my grandfather made his cookies, a bit too much baking soda may have made its way into the batter.. The result? Exploding cookies! The insides exploded out, and each cookie was a double cookie! One was hollow, and the other (attached) piece was the innards! Still tasty, but incredibly amusing.

Then my grandmother tried making brownies… When they came out of the oven, one end was terribly thin and the other terribly fat.

A mystery, you may say?

Nah, just crooked oven racks!

I didn’t get a photo of these, but I wish I had!!

So as you can see, I come from a long line of incredibly talented and dedicated bakers. Thanks Grammar and Grumpy for passing along your enthusiasm for baking to me 🙂 Even when things don’t turn out (FieldBerry Cupcakes, Cherry Cheesecake Brownie Cupcakes, ManCakes…) we still have fun!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ruth Wheelwright permalink
    December 21, 2011 2:01 pm

    Oh my goodness you make me laugh!!!!!!
    xo
    mom

Leave a Reply

