Skip to content

Christmas Already?

November 1, 2011

It’s the day after Halloween and already the Christmas commercials are all over the television, and stores have started donning their Christmas trimmings. Restoration Hardware has had their Christmas decorations and stocking stuffer tables set up since the beginning of October!

And you know what?

I’m loving it 🙂

I’m the person who starts listening to Christmas music as soon as the weather turns. I actually listen to Christmas songs all year round… But I really go all-out once the cold weather hits! There’s nothing that makes me feel better on a freezing cold walk to work than listening to some holly jolly Christmas tunes.

Not to mention all the delicious holiday treats I’ll get to make!!

There are some treats that my mom and I make every year – Christmas cookies of course!

Gingerbread Cookies in all sorts of different shapes – some typical like trees, ornaments, mittens and candy canes, and shapes not-so-typical like cows and flowers!

 

Decorated with brightly coloured royal icing, these cookies always look amazing on our Christmas tree! We have fun icing them, like giving the angels bikinis and using crazy colours!

We also make amazing chocolate cookies with a maraschino cherry in the centre and covered in melted chocolate. They are my ultimate favourite Christmas treat, and I look forward to them every year. Oh man I can’t wait to make them!!

This year I’d like to try some new Christmas treats on top of my old favourites. Maybe some white chocolate cranberry cookies, or a S’more pie I’ve been dreaming about!

Anyone have favourite Christmas baking ideas they’d like to share? I know it’s early, but it’s crazy how fast time flies this time of year! Before your oven has time to pre-heat it’ll be time to put in the Christmas Tree Cookies 🙂

Happy November!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ruth Wheelwright permalink
    November 4, 2011 12:27 pm

    So can’t wait to start our Christmas baking!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    xoxoxoxoxo
    Mom

Leave a Reply

