Skip to content

Cupcakes, Cookies & Jack-O-Lanterns!

October 28, 2011

 

My baking bins, my sweet sweet baking bins! Oh how I’ve missed you!

Our party is tomorrow evening, but I work all day so today was my prep day! It was a busy baking day, and I loved it 🙂

I started with cupcakes. Because cupcakes are the best. They’re all baked and ready, and I have two hours between the end of work and when people start arriving, so I’ll race home and ice the cupcakes then. I’m excited, I have an awesome Halloween-y decorating idea!

Because I only made 12 cupcakes, I decided other treats needed to be made as well.

 

 

I decided to go with Rice Krispie Squares! They are quick and easy, and with some festive orange food colouring,  you have Halloween Rice Krispie Squares!!

Well, they weren’t really squares… I had a romantic notion that I could mould them to look like pumpkins, but no matter how much butter I had on my fingers, the marshmallow was just too sticky!! They’re rounded and that’s as close as I could get. I made faces on some, webs on others, and words on the rest. They look pretty silly, but they taste good so I don’t mind.

 

Last I made cookies.

I’m not lying when I say these are the BEST cookies I have EVER made!!

 

I made up some brownie batter – yes, BROWNIE batter – and added lots of mini chocolate chips.

 

I rolled them into little balls and put them in the oven for about 10 minutes.

 

10 minutes was just long enough to fully cook the batter, but left the cookies nice and soft in the centre!

 

Since these ‘cookies’ are technically brownies, I sprinkled on some powdered sugar to make them more brownie-esque!

I always say that the BEST part of brownies are edge and corner pieces, because they’re thick and gooey and sooooo good.

Well, each one of these cookies are edge pieces!!! It’s heaven in cookie form.

It’s going to be really difficult not eating all of these before tomorrow night….

Stay posted tomorrow for updates on the cupcakes!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

