Skip to content

Christie & Brian’s Wedding

September 26, 2011

Wow. What a couple of days it’s been. I’m completely exhausted!

We got home from Vegas on Thursday, Friday I ran around the city picking up all the supplies I needed to bake 120 cupcakes for the wedding, began my baking Saturday, and finished the baking and all the icing on Sunday.

Phew!

It was a lot of work but it was really fun! The bride and groom had no real requests, they just said that there were 120 guests and a handful of kids, and to make whatever I wanted! I loved the freedom, but it took me a long time to come up with the flavours. Eventually I decided to do my all-time favourite flavours, plus a few new ones for fun!

 

I went with Carrot Cupcakes with a White Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting

 

Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes with a Lemon Blueberry buttercream, and Hi-Hat cupcakes (chocolate batter, meringue frosting dipped in chocolate)

 

Twix Cheesecake Cupcakes (Oreo crumb base and cheesecake top filled with Twix pieces), and Peanut Butter Brownie Cupcakes (brownie base, sweetened condensed milk/peanut butter/chocolate layer, topped with chocolate drizzle and chopped up Reese’s). These two cupcakes were extremely popular as well, which is funny considering they’re hardly cupcakes at all!

 

Mint Chocolate Cupcakes with a Mint Chocolate filling and a Mint buttercream

 

Honey-Vanilla Sprinkle Cupcakes with a White Chocolate frosting, and Oreo Cupcakes with a Whipped Cream Oreo frosting

 

Cookie Monster Cookie Dough Cupcakes, and S’more Cupcakes with a Graham Cracker batter base, Chocolate batter top, marshmallow centre, topped with a giant marshmallow and chocolate ganache drizzle. The Cookie Monsters disappeared almost immediately! No one can resist this fuzzy little guy.

 

It was a lot of work, but a ton of fun! And I think the stands looked good, you couldn’t even tell they were styrofoam!

The wedding photographer got a lot of great shots so I’ll be sure to post those once I get  ahold of them.

 

Congratulations Christie and Brian! You both looked amazing and I thank you for letting me be a part of your special day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    September 26, 2011 4:30 pm

    The cupcakes looked AMAZING- I had a Hi-Hat- soo yummmyyy! One suggestion (maybe I just missed it): in the future perhaps have little cards on the cupcakes denoting what flavor they are. Not sure how i missed the carrot but I would have been allll over that one! 🙂

    • September 26, 2011 4:49 pm

      I had little flags that had each flavour written on them but of course forgot them in the last minute rush to finish and go set up!!

      • Julie permalink
        September 27, 2011 9:08 am

        I should have known you had it all covered 🙂

Leave a Reply

