Skip to content

Post-Vacation Cupcakes

September 24, 2011

It feels weird not taking photos of all my meals. And I haven’t eaten a burger in ages!!

Well… that’s not true, I ate one last night at a bbq…

But still. It’s not the same.

Many of you have asked how much weight I gained while out west, and yesterday I finally braved the scale. Surprisingly I didn’t gain any weight! My body fat percentage did go up a few points, though. And I do resemble the Pilsbury Dough Boy more now than I did before… A few long runs ought help with that.

I miss eating cupcakes every day, so to get my jollies I’m making 120 cupcakes for a friend’s wedding tomorrow!

My alarm went off at 7am, and I rolled out of bed at 10am (hey that’s 7am Cali time!)

I decided to make ten flavours, a dozen of each. I went with a few favourites (S’more, Lemon Blueberry, Honey-Vanilla Sprinkle, Cookie Dough, Peanut Butter Brownie, Hi-Hat, Oreo and Carrot) and a few new flavours (Mint Chocolate and Twix Cheesecake). I JUST finished baking all the cupcakes, and tomorrow I have a loooong day of icing.

For the Mint Chocolate Cupcake I made a chocolate batter and filled it with mint chocolate chips. Then I made a mint chocolate filling, and instead of coring the cupcakes I injected them so the mint filling would be all through the batter! I’m going to add a yummy green mint chocolate frosting tomorrow.

 

I’m really excited about the Twix Cheesecake Cupcakes! I started with an Oreo crumb base and smushed it down in the bottom of the baking cups.

 

Then I made up the cheesecake layer and stuffed it full of chopped up Twix bars!

Technically these are not really cupcakes… But they’re in cupcake wrappers and 90% Twix bars so they’re awesome. Just like cupcakes.

Tomorrow once I finish all the icing I’ll take lots and lots of photos and post them!

 

Okay. Time for bed. When my alarm goes off tomorrow morning at 7am I HAVE to get up!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

