Skip to content

Vegan… Not So Bad!

September 15, 2011

Today was our last full day in San Francisco.

😦

Cobi was off early again for his last day at NerdFest, and I did one last day of touring. I wandered around aimlessly all morning, then went to Ella’s Restaurant with Mary for lunch. It was a cute little place that served awesome comfort food. Chicken pot pie, tuna melts, mac and cheese, and pancakes. Solid lunch menu!

After lunch Mary took me on a quick driving tour through some of the places I hadn’t managed ti make my way through. We drove through the Haight and the major shopping areas, and then Mary dropped me off at the marina. I started at Crissy Field and made my way along the water to the Golden Gate Bridge.

 

On my way back I stopped at the Warming Station and got a hot chocolate and a vegan double chocolate cookie. I generally don’t care about ‘healthier’ sweets options – go big or go home I say – but this cookie was actually pretty good. Thick and fudgey and chocolatey. My kind of cookie.

I sat on the pier watching sailers and kite boarders and tried not to be swept away by the massive birds. After I finished up my chocolatey snack I walked back to my starting point.

 

On my walk back I stopped at the Palace of Fine Arts.

 

It was such a beautiful building.

Man, San Fran really is an ugly city…

20110915-012633.jpg

On our drive home we stopped by the Full House house! I went across the road to Alamo Park (the park where the Tanner family plays around in the opening credits) to take a photo of the houses. I was never really a Full House fan but in university one of my roommates had all the seasons on DVD, and during exam period I’d do anything to procrastinate… So I began watching Full House and got hooked! It was cool seeing the park and the houses.

 

After I finished my walk and met back up with Mary, she told me about a small little grocery store in Japantown that sells the most amazing Coffee Crunch Cake. Apparently the cake was originally sold in a fancy department store, but once it closed the grocery store bought the recipe for the cake and has been selling it ever since. We stopped in the market and went to the bakery corner, ‘Sweet Stop’, and tried to buy some cake. This cake is so popular that it will sell out before lunch every day! So we put our names down to reserve three slices for tomorrow, and we’ll pick them up in the morning before the Alcatraz tour.

Tomorrow is our last day in San Fran, and we plan on making the most of it. Up early, grabbing our cake, picking up more Kara’s Cupcakes for the road, picking up some Ghirardelli baking chocolate, checking out Alcatraz, then off to LA!

It’ll be sad to leave SF, but I’m excited for hot and sunny southern California 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Judy permalink
    September 15, 2011 11:32 am

    Life sucks eh Cos? I love reading your blog. It’s great that you link from fb. I need reminders to do things. btw vegan is def not synonymous with healthy (so it’s often delicious! 😉

    • September 15, 2011 12:05 pm

      I realized that afterward, when I looked at the nutritional information… DEFINITELY not even remotely healthy!!

  2. Julie permalink
    September 15, 2011 11:39 am

    Great photos, great writing…and sounds like a great city ! Thanks, Cosi 😀

Leave a Reply

