Skip to content

Burgers & Ice Cream

September 14, 2011

Today we made poor eating choices…

The day started off well enough, I had a pretty relaxed day. Cobi was up early at NerdFest, but I slept in a bit. When I woke up I had breakfast and spent the morning lounging around, going from my bed to the couch and back again with my book.

Around noon I figured I should get off my lazy butt and do something. So, after a quick lunch and a two hour nap I was rarin’ to go.

I walked out the front door, picked a direction, and started walking. It was a touch chilly, so when I walked past a little cafe I decided to go in and grab a big steaming cup of hot chocolate, yum yum!

After I wandered around some more I decided to walk over to the beach again and walk along the water.

When I went to the beach on Sunday, this is the view I had:

20110914-010820.jpg

When I went to the beach today, this was the view that I had:

 

It was super grey out, but thankfully not terribly cold. The wind was chilly but the sand was warm, so it was quite nice walking up the beach.

 

Once Cobi got home, the bad decisions began.

Joe’s Cable Car is one of the locations we’d seen on Diners Drive-Ins and Dives, and we decided to go check it out.

 

Look at all the neon…

 

20110914-011126.jpg

The inside was even more ridiculous. Every inch of the interior was covered in neon lights and Christmas lights, mirrors, posters, and fake flowers. So crazy.

The menu was basic, burgers fries onion rings and milkshakes. There were lots of different options for burgers, though! My burger had bacon, cheddar, and a fried egg. Yum.

After we finished dinner we made another poor decision…

We went back to Ghirardelli.

20110914-011257.jpg

I got the Warm Brownie Sundae. A big brownie, vanilla ice cream, a TON of hot fudge sauce, whipped cream and a cherry. My only complaint is that the brownie was not big enough!!

 

20110914-011313.jpg

Cobi got the Cable Car. Chocolate, Chocolate Chip and Rocky Road ice cream, marshmallow cream and whipped cream, chopped almonds and a cherry.

(He dove in before I could get a photo, so it doesn’t look as good here as when it was delivered to the table…)

Now we’re sitting on the couch, unable to move.

I think we’re going to have to run to LA instead of drive…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ruth Wheelwright permalink
    September 14, 2011 12:06 pm

    your mother wants all three flavours of fudge is my life
    xo

Leave a Reply

