Skip to content

I Am Too Full To Think

September 12, 2011

My goodness.

What a day.

I tried writing a post last night but as soon as we got home I slipped into a food-induced coma.

I think I’ve consumed about five times my appropriate caloric intake for one day. Maybe even for one week.

As I wrote before, we started out at Bette’s Oceanview Diner for some soufflé pancakes. That was only the beginning.

20110912-032839.jpg

After Cobi left for day 1 of NerdFest 2011 I walked over to the beach and fell asleep in the sun for a couple hours. It was a touch chilly with the wind, but if I sat still the sun was incredibly warm. I had a really good nap!

When Cobi got home we figured we should probably go for a run to offset the disgustingness we plan on consuming this trip.

The house we’re staying at is right on the water, so we decided to do a scenic run through the Prisidio. Helpful hint: if you’re a tourist, don’t run near cool views. You WILL want to stop often to take photos, ruining the entire point of a jog.

20110912-105152.jpg

I managed to contain myself and we didn’t end up stopping until we’d ran out to our halfway point, and came across cool barracks and lookout points used in the war. We walked to the top of one of the turrets and the view was pretty spectacular.

 

20110912-105600.jpg

(I know this has nothing to do with food and sweets, but I promise I’ll only be touristy for a moment)

 

20110912-110933.jpg

Okay, enough of that. Back to the good stuff.

After we decided to be healthy young adults we came back to the house, stretched, showered, then met up with a friend of Cobi’s from back home who moved to San Fran for work. We decided to go to In N Out Burger, as I’d been advised to try an ‘animal style’ burger. I didn’t take any photos because nothing is worse than cold fast food… I ate that thing as soon as I got it! And it was delicious. The lovely people at In N Out were nice enough to post the calorie count of each menu item on the menu board… Come on, I already know it’s bad for me, but I don’t want to know how bad!! So that meal right there was about a whole day’s worth of calories.

 

20110912-112911.jpg

And then we went to Ghirardelli…

 

20110912-113042.jpg

This beautiful thing is the Earthquake.

 

20110912-113151.jpg

Eight scoops of ice cream, eight toppings, whipped cream, chocolate chips, almonds, cherries and bananas.

Yum.

We got chocolate, vanilla, cookie dough, cookies and cream, strawberry shortcake, mint chocolate chip, rocky road, and chocolate chip. Topped with milk hot fudge, dark hot fudge, chocolate syrup, caramel peanut butter, marshmallow cream, butterscotch and extra whipped cream.

 

I’d say we did pretty well considering there was only three of us!

Note how clean and beautiful the table was before… And then how messy it was after… We dove right in.

 

So, between Bette’s soufflé pancakes, the Kara’s cupcake, the In N Out burger and fries and the Ghirardelli Earthquake, I’d say yesterday was a pretty delicious day.

Good thing I’m spending today doing a walking tour of San Fran…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    September 12, 2011 1:04 pm

    Despite this being a food blog, I was very appreciative of the beautifully scenic shots you included…looks so amazing! Glad to hear you’re balancing the binge eating with some exercise 😉 Looking forward to reading/seeing more of your trip – I’m a bit jealous …

  2. September 13, 2011 2:16 am

    It really is a beautiful city. I can’t help but add in scenic photos!!
    Glad you’re enjoying the updates, I’m having a lot of fun finding things to write about 😉

Leave a Reply

