Skip to content

Frisco Loves Cupcakes!

September 10, 2011

Ohmygosh.

Day one in San Francisco has been AMAZING!!!

We were up at 4am to make our 7:50am flight. Traveling at the crack of dawn is waaaay more civilized. We breezed through check-in, customs and security in under an hour! My customs guy asked me no questions about my reasons for traveling, but did compliment my choice of nail polish and used a Seinfeld reference or two about my last name. Wish all custom experiences were that jolly.

The flight was smooth as silk, I slept for as long as I could in my upright seat (our stupid seats didn’t recline) and then watched an episode or 7 of The Office.

Once we landed we grabbed our rental car (Jim Bob), drove to Boyfriend’s aunts house, and then the fun began!

After a quick catnap we all went out for lunch at Taqueria La Cumbre.

20110910-102243.jpg

Cobi and I had first seen Taqueria La Cumbre on Man VS. Food, as they were the inventors of the ‘Mission Style’ Burrito, and we wanted to try them out. They were massive! Not the very best burrito I’ve ever had, but still good.

 

After lunch we drove up Balmy St to look at the murals that the locals had painted. The ‘street’ was more of an alley, really narrow and the walls and fences were covered in really cool paintings.

20110910-102644.jpg

20110910-102712.jpg

20110910-102738.jpg

Love that this is from Maurice Sendak’s ‘Where The Wild Things Are’

 

20110910-102813.jpg

We decided to take the long route home, and do a driving tour of the city.

 

20110910-103752.jpg

Ooh look, the Bay Bridge!

As we were driving along we came across Ghirardelli Square. We of COURSE had to stop and take a look around!!!

20110910-104313.jpg

It was crazy packed and we were still full of burritos, so we’re going to go another time and eat a ridiculous amount of chocolate and ice cream!!

We wandered around the square and came across some really fun stores.

 

The Crown & Crumpet was full of little girls and their mothers having tea. We weren’t in the mood for a tea party, but we did check out the little gift shop!

20110910-104716.jpg

20110910-104848.jpg

The cupcake tea set is so cute! I LOVE the tea pot, but I was scared that it’d get smashed in my luggage on the way home 😦 I need to find a local store that sells it.

Next we went into the Ghirardelli Shop, and I found another bazillion things that I wish I could have bought!!

 

20110910-105256.jpg

How cute are these!? They’re silicon baking cups in the shape of tea cups!!

 

20110910-105412.jpg

This was pretty cool, it’s a ‘cupcake transporter’! It’s a display stand and each of the little cars on the truck holds a cupcake. Too cute.

 

20110910-105847.jpg

The shop had lots of really cute cupcake Christmas Tree ornaments. I actually rarely see cupcake ornaments, so I probably should have bought one… Bet I’d manage to break it in transit, though.

 

20110910-110055.jpg

These I’m in love with!! Christmas in my mom’s house gets pretty intense… We decorate the house like crazy, and we have a ton of really cool nutcrackers. I think these would fit right in!!!

 

20110910-110239.jpg

While this has nothing to do with cupcakes I thought it was awesome. That is a phrase I commonly say as my eyes are deteriorating at lightning speed, and as soon I get a new prescription my eyes decide to get even worse so I can’t ever see. If my glasses had fit into this case I would have bought it in a heart beat. Stupid giant glasses.

If I wasn’t such a broke little girl I would have bought everything in that store!!

I did some research on cupcake places in San Fran, and I knew I had to stop by Kara’s Cupcakes and SusieCakes to see what all the fuss was about.

20110910-110629.jpg

Luckily Kara’s Cupcakes was right across from Ghirardelli!

 

20110910-110832.jpg

I bought six flavours (Caramel Banana, Carrot, Ghirardelli Chocoalte, Vanilla with Chocolate Frosting, Peanut Butter Chocolate, and Sweet Vanilla) and I cannot wait to try them all!!

After our superfun Ghirardelli Square adventure we took another scenic route home. We drove past some of the insanely huge and fancy houses, and saw the Mrs. Doubtfire house.

We’d almost made it back to the house when AHA! we passed SusieCakes!!

20110910-111308.jpg

Of course, I HAD to go in.

 

Susie had some of the same flavours as Kara, but they did have Mint Chocolate and Red Velvet which Kara didn’t have…

So, naturally, I bought one of each.

As soon as we got home I cut up the first cupcake sample! We decided to go with the Ghirardelli Chocolate.

Oh. My. Goodness. It was SO good!! Unbelievably moist and the chocolate frosting was probably the best chocolate frosting I’ve ever had. My only complaint is that the cupcake was rather small… I cut it into three pieces (because I’m super nice and decided to share) and was really surprised at how small each piece was! Come on, Kara’s Cupcakes. If I’m going to be a good little girl and share my treats, at least make bigger cupcakes so my piece is decent sized!!

So overall day one has been pretty fabulous… Tomorrow the plan is to go to Berkeley and hit Bette’s Oceanview Diner for breakfast. I want to try out her killer Soufflé Pancakes!

Stay tuned for more cupcake sample updates and more sweet treats!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

