Skip to content

Ultimate Dessert Bars

September 3, 2011

Do you like Chocolate Chip Cookies?

Do you like Oreos?

Do you like Brownies?

Do you like Ice Cream and Hot Fudge Sauce?

Then you’ll LOVE what I’m making!!!

I went a little crazy with the dessert today… My mom’s husband’s birthday was on Thursday, so this afternoon his entire family is coming over for a big birthday celebration, filled with delicious food, fireworks, and of course, an amazing dessert.

There are lots of little kids and lots of dessert lovers, so I knew I had to make something really good. I thought maybe I could make ice cream bars, or lots of cookies, or maybe some brownies… All of these options sounded amazing to me, so I thought, why not combine them?!

I started with the Chocolate Chip Cookies

I made up some batter and filled it with heaps of chocolate chips. The store didn’t have any milk chocolate chips at the store, but they did have white chocolate & milk chocolate swirled chips, which I figured would work just as well! Plus, they’re way prettier.

 


I grabbed the biggest brownie pan I could find and squished in the Chocolate Chip Cookie Layer.

 

Then I opened up a box of Double-Stuffed Oreos and laid all the cookies down on the Chocolate Chip Cookie layer.

 

Next I made up some brownie batter. I cheated a little bit here and used a box mix, so the brownies would be extra fudgey.

Don’t judge me.

I also added some hot fudge sauce for good measure, and so the brownies would be ooeygooey even once they’d baked!

Finally I poured the brownie mixture on top of the Oreos and put the whole thing into the oven!

50 minutes and 350 degrees later they were ready to come out.

 

It was difficult to get a good photo of all the different layers, so this was the best I could do! You can hardly see the Oreos, but they’re definitely in there!

 

Mush it all up, add ice cream and more hot fudge sauce and you have yourself a pretty delicious treat!!

I think we should buy some Soft Serve, mix in some of the Dessert Bars, and BAM! Homemade Blizzards!!

I think if I were to make these again I would make the brownie layer thinner… I’m a big chocolate fan so I loved the big chocolate taste, but it was a little overpowering. I would also use less hot fudge sauce in the brownie layer, as that was also a bit overpowering. I want to taste the Chocolate Chip and Oreo layers a bit more!!

 

Even though there are changes I would like to make, people really didn’t seem to mind the current recipe…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Harold permalink
    September 3, 2011 10:25 pm

    So will I be able to taste one of these Cosi?

    • September 4, 2011 7:53 am

      Haha I’m not sure how I would ever be able to transport these bars… Their gooeyness makes it a little difficult!!

Leave a Reply

