Skip to content

Carrots, Bananas, Chocolate & Sprinkles – FINISHED!

August 31, 2011

What a dreary day.

Oh well, at least my cupcakes won’t melt, and it seems people need cupcakes more than ever on icky days!

I’m pleased with this week’s creations, even if they are more simple than I tend to do. The flavours are basic, but man are they good!

First I made the dark chocolate frosting for the Triple Chocolate Cupcakes. Yum yum melted dark chocolate!


Instead of adding pieces of chopped up bittersweet or dark chocolate to the top of the cupcakes, I decided to decorate with white chocolate disks. Now they’re quadruple chocolate cupcakes!

 


We gave these a try and they are really, really good. Each chocolate cupcake recipe I try is better than the last!!

 


Next I iced the carrot cupcakes with a White Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting, and topped each with a white chocolate chip. Now, I’m not a big fan of cream cheese frosting because I’m not a fan of cream cheese, but I’ll eat these cupcakes!! The white chocolate adds a really nice sweetness to the frosting, but isn’t too sweet. These cupcakes are so soft and moist, they might be my favourite of the week!

 


Next I iced the Chocolate Chip Banana cupcakes. I kept going back and forth, unsure if I should ice them or leave them plain. Finally I decided that a simple chocolate frosting would be good. I like the way they turned out! They’re chocolatey, but it doesn’t overpower the banana flavour. The two go very well together!

 

Last came the Sprinkle Cupcakes!


I’m actually happy that the Field Berry Cupcakes didn’t turn out, because I had so much fun making these!!

I had some White Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting left over from the Carrot Cupcakes so I decided to try using it on the Sprinkle Cupcakes. It worked really, really well with the vanilla batter which I had sweetened with honey, so I made up some more and frosted the rest!

And of course I had to add more sprinkles to the top of each cupcake to finish them off!

I see the sun trying to peek through the clouds, so hopefully it makes it’s way out for the market!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

