Skip to content

Carrots, Bananas, Chocolate and Sprinkles!

August 30, 2011

Mmmmm I love this job. My kitchen smells goooood!

I started the morning off with some carrot cupcakes! A few spices here, and a few carrots there, and voila! Carrot Cupcake batter!

These are the healthiest cupcakes I’ve ever made. I didn’t use any butter, I used applesauce in the place of most of the oil, and they’re chock full of vegetables! They’ll be a little less healthy (but way more awesome) once I add the Ghirardelli white chocolate cream cheese frosting… Oh well!
The Banana Cupcakes started off healthy… Until I added heaps and heaps of chocolate chips…


They’re golden brown, chocolatey, and of course banana-y!

I’m trying to decide whether or not to do a frosting… I’m a big fan of regular ol’ chocolate chip banana bread, but without frosting they’re not real cupcakes… Hmmm. I guess it’ll be a game-time decision!

 

Next I tried out the Field Berry Cupcakes…


They started out beautifully! I made a delicious vanilla batter and packed it full of strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and blackberries! Then I tossed them in the oven… and completely forgot about them.

Whoops.

Usually I’m really, really good about setting timers or being aware of how long the cupcakes have been in the oven for!

But my mom brought home a new puppy on Sunday and I’ve been on house-breaking duty, and got a little distracted…


Can you blame me?! Just look at her!!

So the cupcakes were slightly blackened when I finally remembered about them. Definitely not market worthy. And of course, I didn’t have enough berries to make a second batch.

What to do, what to do?!

 


When in doubt, SPRINKLES!!

 

I always loved the Betty Crocker Rainbow Cake Mix as a kid, and I’m pretty much still a kid so I figured I’d make my own version!

 


I’ve heard people call these cupcakes ‘Funfetti Cupcakes’, but I like the word ‘sprinkles’ so that’s what these are!

Sprinkle Cupcakes!

Not sure what sort of icing I’ll do… Perhaps a multi-coloured rainbow frosting? Ooh or maybe a basic white buttercream topped with lots and lots more sprinkles!! Mmmm I like the sound of that 🙂
And last, but most definitely not least, came the Triple Chocolate Cupcakes!

Delicious Ghirardelli chocolate melted to make the best chocolate batter ever, chocolate chip pieces for an extra chocolatey kick, and tomorrow I’ll add the dark chocolate buttercream.

Mmmmm.

So even though the Field Berry Cupcakes didn’t work out, I’m really happy with this week’s cupcakes!!

Hope to see everyone out at the market tomorrow!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    August 30, 2011 7:53 pm

    Gee, Cosi, they just keep getting better and better! Save a carrot cupcake for me tomorrow!!!

Leave a Reply

