Skip to content

2nd Time’s A Charm!

August 16, 2011

Today was a crazy day!!

This morning I stopped by Michael’s and went a little nuts… I bought a bunch more icing tips, bags, TONS of cupcake liners and edible paint in all different colours! So excited to play with the paint.

Once I finished my shopping spree I headed home to begin my baking.

It started off really well! I had a great idea for the Cherry Cheesecake Brownie Cupcakes so I decided to start with them.
First step was the brownie layer, so I whipped up my favourite brownie batter.


Mmmmm that’s a solid cupcake base!

 

Next came the cream cheese layer, and then the cherry layer.

Popped them in the oven and… Burnt them to a crisp. Whoops.

 

So I tried again.

This time I didn’t leave them in the oven so long.


Ah, MUCH better!!

 

In hindsight I wish I’d used less brownie and more cheesecake, but they’re still good!

Once I was satisfied with my Cherry Cheesecake Brownie Cupcakes, I moved on to my French Toast Cupcakes. I wasn’t entirely satisfied with these ones as I couldn’t quite achieve my desired flavour, but they’re still cinnamon-y and maple syrup-y and really yummy! Tomorrow I’ll add the Maple Cinnamon frosting which will hopefully help with the French Toast flavour!

 

Last came the Chocolate Jam Cupcakes (I’m leaving the Hi-Hats for tomorrow)

I baked up some vanilla cupcakes and hollowed them out.

Look at that, I should be a brain surgeon.

 

Next I added the jam filling.

I didn’t end up using Mrs. V’s Strawberry Pineapple jam as I’m terribly selfish and want it all for myself, but I did use some homemade strawberry jam which worked just as well! Tomorrow I’ll add the chocolate frosting to finish them off!

It took some time but I’m really happy with this week’s cupcakes! Come out to the Inglewood Market tomorrow and try them 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

