Skip to content

Graduation Cupcakes

August 5, 2011

I got an order earlier in the week for candy bar cupcakes for a graduation party, and I was so happy to be able to make them again!

I made Snickers, Caramilk and Smartie, and made a few changes to make them even better than before!

I started with the Caramilk cupcakes, as they took the longest.

I made up my chocolate cupcake batter and filled it with chocolate chips and Caramilk pieces. While they were baking I made the Caramel filling, and once the cupcakes had baked and cooled I cored them and poured in the gooey caramel. I made the centre bigger than last time so more caramel would fit inside!

Once each cupcake had been cored and filled, I put the tops back on to better hold the icing.

The icing I made was different than the one I used last time. Last time I had made a caramel buttercream, but it was so similar to the one I had made for the Snickers Cupcakes that I thought I’d make it a little different. So this time I made a thick, creamy chocolate-caramel icing, added a Caramilk garnish and drizzled some caramel sauce on top. So delicious.

 

Next I made the Snickers Cupcakes! These were pretty much the same as the ones I had made up last time, I just added a small amount of milk chocolate to the Caramel Buttercream to add some more interest to the frosting! Topped with caramel and lots of Snickers pieces I think they look pretty darn good!

 

Last I made the Smartie Cupcakes. I really liked how these worked out the first time I made them, so I kept them the exact same! I was told that the colour orange was a theme of the celebration, so I added some red and yellow food colouring to the batter and to the icing to give it a subtle orange huge. Then I topped each cupcake with orange Smarties to finish them off!

 

Congratulations and Happy Graduation!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. sharon permalink
    August 6, 2011 11:49 am

    Those all look good. We are in France right now and we saw a place called Dream cupcakes, not sure if you are familiar with that company. I agree with you about sweet cupcakes and savoury cupcakes. Cupcakes should be sweet not tasting like bacon and eggs.
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

