Skip to content

Industrial Espionage

July 24, 2011


 

My boyfriend commutes from Toronto to Barrie every day for work. There seemed to be no real silver lining to that commute, until this past week!

He discovered an Italian bakery that sold lots of delicious looking treats including cupcakes near where he works.

The name of the Italian bakery? The Italian Bakery.

On Friday he bought one of each flavour for me to do some industrial espionage! It was crazy, when I opened the box I was hit with the strongest sweet smell I’ve ever encountered. It actually turned me off a little and I was’t sure if I’d like them, because they seemed to be too sweet for me. I actually didn’t get around to trying them until today!


The first one I tried was the cupcake to the left of the chocolate covered strawberry, and it was definitely the best of all of them! The icing was a thick chocolate fudge icing, not too sweet or rich but just totally amazing. The flavours were very plain but I think on this cupcake it worked because of the fudgey-ness of the icing. Anything more would have been overpowering.

The next one I tried was the white cupcake with caramel drizzle at the bottom. It was a vanilla caramel cupcake, and it was really good as well. I was quite surprised with the tastes of the cupcakes. They weren’t as crazy sweet as I was expecting. They flavours were more rich than sweet, which I like. My only negative comment is about the icing… It was delicious, but there was just too much! The icing was taller than the cake part! Some would say that that’s how a cupcake SHOULD be, but like I’ve said before, I prefer the cake over the icing.

I also tried the two chocolate cupcakes above the vanilla caramel cupcake, as well as the chocolate covered strawberry cupcake and the pink cupcake. The chocolate-covered strawberry cupcakes and the two other chocolate ones tasted very similar, I couldn’t really find a difference between the three. The pink one was cherry, and I could taste a hint of cherry in the icing but it was very subtle, and mixed with the rich chocolate cake you could hardly tell it was meant to be cherry.

The lemon one was eaten before I had a chance to try it, but I was told it was good. I still need to try the pineapple cupcake, the mocha cupcake, and the last cupcake which I can’t tell the flavour by looking at it…

Overall I thought they were very good and I was pleasantly surprised! I do wish that there was a bit more difference in flavour between each cupcake as the flavours are all too similar, especially the chocolate cupcakes. They are very pretty but a bit boring. I prefer doing fun and interesting flavours that you don’t see all too often, but I suppose the classics are nice to have every now and again 🙂

Yummm I love doing ‘work related research’. It’s just so delicious!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 7:43 pm

    Definitely cake over icing!

    With all that professional research, we’re miles away from the sweet bet… Savory cupcakes anytime soon? Or some japanese flavors (kabocha, macha or anko)?

    Cheers!

    • July 24, 2011 7:52 pm

      Japanese-inspired cupcakes would be so cool to try!! I definitely want to try out some savory cupcakes soon. Maybe I’ll do one for the market this week!

  2. sharon permalink
    July 25, 2011 1:57 am

    I always like the richness of a dessert over sweetness. We love chocolate and definitely dark. We recently visited a chocolate museum in Belgium, of course, and found out that where the cocoa bean originates has alot to do with flavour in the end product. We took a taste there where they asked questions about flavour etc. and it was found that Paul and I like Peruvian originated cocoa. They had about 3 or 4 countries represented. We certainly were not disappointed. At home I buy callabraut chocolate(not sure the spelling) and not sure the origin of it. I notice when I make cookies the richness comes through the chocolate into the baked good.

Leave a Reply

