Skip to content

Inglewood Market Week 4 – Prep

July 19, 2011

I had a really hard time coming up with flavours for this week. I just couldn’t settle on anything, and I couldn’t decide how many flavours and how many cupcakes to make!

While walking through the supermarket, I actually got inspired by fun summer paper plates! I saw some with ladybugs, frogs, and some with Cookie Monster! So I decided to do a fun mix of summer themes!

I started with basic flavours: mint chocolate chip, cookie dough, chocolate peanut butter, and vanilla filled with chocolate chips. The flavours may be a little more basic, but the decorations really make up for it!!

 

I started with chocolate chip cookies. While walking through the cookie aisle I thought it’d be fun to do a Chocolate Chip Cookie Cupcake with a Cookie Monster theme! The only problem was the cupcakes weren’t quite big enough for what I wanted to do, so I ended up using the mint chocolate cupcakes as the base for Cookie Monster, because they were nice and big!

 

While the cuppycakes were cooling I started preparing Mr. Monster’s eyes. I took chocolate chips and used icing to glue them onto white chocolate disks.


Ta-da! Cookie Monster eyes!

 

I’m pretty happy with the finished product!! I piped on the blue icing, sliced the lid of the cupcakes, shoved in a big Decadent cookie and placed on the eyes. Yummy yummy cookie!

 

These next cupcakes I fell upon accidentally. I knew I wanted to try some sort of floral cupcake, I just didn’t know what. So I whipped out my piping tips and tried out a few different leaves, petals and stems. I came up with a few designs that I liked a lot, but then I checked out the weather forecast for tomorrow… 30 but feels like 40? Ya right, the flowers wouldn’t last a minute outside! I still wanted to do something with flowers, but I had to switch from icing to something else.


When in doubt, use mini marshmallows!!

 


I cut the mini marshmallows in half diagonally to make them look more like petals.

 


Then I dipped the cut sides into red sprinkles, because sprinkles make everything better!

 

I spread a small amount of icing onto the vanilla chocolate chip cupcakes so the marshmallows would have something to stick to.

 


Then I placed the marshmallow pieces all around the cupcake with a white chocolate chip in the centre.

I love these cupcakes. I’d definitely like to try them with icing petals, but this is definitely a good way to deal with the insane summer heat.

I’ll post photos of the other 2 cupcake designs tomorrow! Get excited, I’m making frog and pie šŸ˜‰

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

