Skip to content

19th Birthday Cupcakes – Update

July 18, 2011

So I decided to go with Bailey’s Cupcakes and Smirnoff Raspberry Lemonade Cupcakes for Blaire’s 19th birthday!

I have mixed feelings with the way each turned out…

The Bailey’s cupcakes taste really good. The batter has a nice thick consistency to it which I like with the flavours and with the icings I used. The only issue is I don’t quite like the way they look!!


They started off fine, I made up some white cake batter and chocolate cake batter and filled the cupcake liners with each. I made more batter than I usually do just to make sure the cupcakes were nice and big!

 


 What I didn’t account for was the consistency of the baked batter. I wanted this particular batter because it’s thicker than my regular batter, but that meant the batter didn’t rise as much as I was hoping. Whoops! Gotta remember that for next time!

So although the cupcakes were a little dinky, I just went with it because the thick consistency really makes up for the small size. I think if they were any bigger it’d just be too much!

I made up some Bailey’s chocolate ganache and spread it on top of each cupcake.

Then I made up some creamy Bailey’s frosting to pipe on top of the ganache.

This is where I made my mistake!

I piped the frosting decoratively on top of each cupcake, and I was really happy with the way it looked! Then I placed the finished cupcakes off to the side so I had room to wash out their travel containers. I didn’t realize that I had placed the cupcakes right by the oven, and both the stovetop and oven were on, and the heat caused the icing to melt a little bit.

Whoops… Dumb move, Cosi.

I fixed them up by sprinkling some shaved chocolate on top. That made them a little better, but still not as nice as they were originally!!

Boo.

Oh well, at least they taste good!! That’s all that really matters.
The Smirnoff Raspberry-Lemonade Cupcakes turned out a little better!

 

I made up some Raspberry-Lemon batter and tinted it pink. This batter wasn’t as thick as the Bailey’s batter so they raised well and were nice and big!

I made up some Smirnoff Raspberry icing and piped it onto the cupcakes. The selection of raspberries at my local grocery store were pitiful, so I went with Swedish Berries as a garnish. Way more fun! I also want to add a slice of lemon to give the cupcakes more colour, because I think they look a little boring right now.

Taste great, but look boring. It’s the curse my cupcakes need to overcome!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ruth Wheelwright permalink
    July 20, 2011 12:35 pm

    Aren’t you so happy your parents gave you such an excellent name?????

    Bethcakes?
    Arlenecakes?
    Gertrudecakes?

    nah…………

Leave a Reply

