Skip to content

White Chocolate Raspberry Cupcakes

June 19, 2011

 

I love summer, and I love summertime flavours!

Yesterday my Aunt threw a party to celebrate her own and her two sisters’ birthdays, as well as Father’s Day. And of course, any celebration calls for cupcakes!!

I was hoping to try out a few flavours I’ve never tried before, like lemondrop, lavender-honey, vanilla-almond cherry and white chocolate raspberry, but I figured that would be too many flavours! So I settled on white chocolate raspberry for sure, and S’more cupcakes were requested to be the second flavour.

The White Chocolate Raspberry cupcakes were frustrating to make. I was baking in a kitchen I’ve never baked in before, so I didn’t know where anything was and I didn’t have all the supplies I needed. I also didn’t know the stove well, and I learned quickly that it is finicky and loves to surprise you!

I made up some white chocolate batter with white chocolate chunks, spooned it into pink polka-dotted cups, and tossed them into the oven. I made sure to pay attention to the baking process as it was an unknown oven, and I got frustrated when the batter didn’t seem to be doing anything for the longest time. But, just to keep my on my toes, all of a sudden the cupcakes were baked through and close to burning, so I took them out quickly. Some of the bottoms were more brown than I’d hoped, but luckily I’d made lots extra so I put aside the brown-bottomed cupcakes for my own personal enjoyment. I don’t mind a well-tanned cupcake.

The icing was also a frustrating endeavour. My new baking location was up at a cottage, and the smoking hot weather was not helping my icing. No matter what I tried, the cream cheese icing wouldn’t get thick enough. I finally got it to a half decent piping consistency (after almost an entire bag of icing sugar), iced the cupcakes at lightning speed and threw them into the fridge so the icing wouldn’t get any softer. That seemed to work well enough, but I was nervous about the 2.5 hour drive to Prince Edward County in the warm sun… I’d have to crank the AC the entire way and hope for the best!

Thankfully they survived the trip. Phew!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha Wheelwright Griffin permalink
    June 19, 2011 7:37 pm

    They were both wonderful, Cosi- thank you so much. I had a little taste last night, after the clean-up, topped off with the chocolate ice cream- yum. yum.

  2. June 19, 2011 8:48 pm

    they look yummy Cosi!

  3. Justin permalink
    June 23, 2011 11:52 am

    These are sooo good! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

