Skip to content

Hot Fudge Sundae Cupcakes

April 13, 2011

Hot Fudge Sundae Cupcake

Mmmmmm nothing smells better than an oven full of cupcakes!!

Today my little brother turns 16, and I wanted to make him something special! He loves anything chocolate, so I decided to try making hot fudge sundae cupcakes!

These were actually some of the more difficult cupcakes I’ve had to make, because of all the little chocolatey surprises! I decided to put some chocolate chips into the chocolate fudge batter, and after I had spooned the batter into the baking cups I added a dollop of hot fudge sauce. This seemed like an awesome idea at first (who doesn’t love tons of chocolate?). But after I took the cupcakes out of the oven I realized that the extra chocolatey bits made the cupcake really soft and difficult to deal with. I was worried at first that the batter hadn’t fully cooked, but after sampling one (yummmm) it turned out the batter was fully cooked, it was just the melted chocolate chips and gooey syrup that was making the cupcakes feel so soft!

Hot Fudge Sundae Cupcakes

Although they were totally delicious, they were tough to handle. Icing them was my next feat, as I was worried I’d mangle the soft cupcakes! I managed to ice each one with a creamy white frosting, and topped them with melted chocolate, another dollop of icing and a cherry to top it all off!

Again, my added chocolate gave me a hard time! Because it was so warm and soft, it make the icing on top start to melt and slide off! Whoops! I threw the cupcakes in the fridge to stop the rest of the cupcakes from going sloppy.

Hot Fudge Sundae Cupcakes

After they all cooled, they looked pretty good! Chopped peanuts would probably have been a good touch… Unfortunately, my little brother is not a fan. Oh well!

They were tougher to make than I anticipated, but, boy, were they worth it!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

