Skip to content

Welcome to CosiCakes!

April 9, 2011

My name is Cosi and I live in the small town of Palgrave, Ontario.

Having a major sweet tooth I have always had an interest in baking, making cupcakes, cake and other treats for birthdays, holidays, or just for no reason at all. Although I’ve just finished my BA in Communications and Humanities, I’ve decided to take some time off and give baking a go!

My specialty is making fun desserts that are not only delicious but unique as well!

Hamburger-shaped cupcakes

Burger Cupcakes

These are my hamburger cupcakes. They are time consuming to make, but are always a crowd pleaser!

Hamburger-shaped cupcakes

The cupcakes are made with a vanilla cupcake cut in half to make the bun, and a chocolate cupcake top to make the patty. Add some frosting cheese and condiments and a sprinkling of sesame seeds and you have yourself a hamburger cupcake!

Chocolate and marshmallow dreidels

Marshmallow Dreidels

Although cupcakes are my favorite to make, I also experiment with other desserts! After receiving an invitation to attend my boyfriend’s family Hanukkah party, I tried to think of something fun to make and bring along! I remembered seeing something in a magazine about edible dreidels and thought I’d give it a try!

The first step was to attach a chocolate kiss to the bottom of a marshmallow using icing, and inserting a pretzel stick in the opposite end. Then I dipped the marshmallow and kiss into melted chocolate, leaving them in the fridge to harden. Once they had hardened, I used a piping bag to create the four letters around the dreidel.

These also took a long time to make, but were definitely worth it!

French vanilla tye-dye cake

Tye-Dye Cake

I will take any occasion to bake something new. My boyfriend’s brother is a big help, as he is constantly leaving home for a new destination, giving me plenty of opportunities to make good-bye treats for him! His most recent trip to Banff allowed me to try out the neon food colouring I had just bought. I couldn’t decide between a colour as they were all so awesome, so I chose them all!

Rich double chocolate cake smothered in multicoloured vanilla icing.

Starburst Cake

My starburst cake came as an accident… I was up at a family friend’s cottage making cupcakes and I had a lot of leftover batter, so I threw it in a cake pan so I didn’t waste it. I then took all the leftover icing from the cupcakes and drizzled it on top, adding sprinkles to finish it off. I love the messy splash of colour.

My next cake project is going to be an interesting one… I promised a friend I would make her a very special cake, one that had a cheesecake base, with a thick layer of caramel on top. The next layer would be thick, gooey brownie, covered in a chocolate ganache, and the whole thing would be topped with mousse. Sounds delicious, no?

But before that cakemonster gets created I must focus on my brother’s sweet 16th birthday. With the hot fudge sundae cupcakes I’ll be making him, it’s sure to be a sweet one!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jose permalink
    April 13, 2011 10:34 am

    Hey you! Put your sweet logo on here!!

  2. condimenthater permalink
    April 14, 2011 9:25 pm

    These look amazing!

    How did you get the yellow frosting to look like cheese? I’m in awe!

    Your logo is fantastic too!

    • April 15, 2011 8:40 pm

      It took a few tries to get the cheese right, but I’ve perfected the technique!
      A big thanks to Jesse Druxerman for helping me out with my logo 🙂

  3. Aaron permalink
    April 15, 2011 8:23 pm

    Those burger cupcakes are amazing! Can I get one with a side of rings?

    Also, the logo is wicked!

Leave a Reply

